Volleyball . Athletics Day . Sailing to Thousand Islands


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
October 19th 2014
Published: October 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Daily life continues to putter along. I have loved riding my motorbike and it’s been holding out well, but I already had to fix a flat tire, get a tune up, and fix my lights. One of my friends here communicates to the mechanic on my behalf in these situations which has been super helpful!



My volleyball team has continued to do very well. Before entering the championship games, we were undefeated and remained that way by earning first place in the league! I’m so proud of the girls and what they have accomplished – they have come a LONG way since we started working together a year ago. The season is not done yet as we have another major tournament coming up in about three weeks time.



As a PE department we also hosted our annual Athletics Day again – one for Junior School, the other for Senior School. These events are some of my favorite and we had great weather again for both occasions.



Last week we had two days of PD with other schools. The following day two girlfriends from high school were coming into town for the week for a visit. This was the same holiday last year when I flew home for my sister’s wedding and now I just have to wait another 7 months before I am home again! Having all of these visitors come visit however has certainly made it easier to hold out for summer. It’s been nice to see a few familiar faces around here and to show them around! While sitting in our last PD session, a co-worker asked me if I would be interested to going sailing – without hesitation, I of course said I would be! Pretty soon I found myself having new Saturday plans, sailing in the morning and picking my friends up from the airport at night. We sailed just off from Jakarta’s waterfront and towards the Thousand Islands. You can take a ferry to the Thousand Islands and even spend overnight on some of the islands if you wanted too. Those who are into diving may also take dive trips there if interested. This has also been another destination I have wanted to explore so when the opportunity came to do it by sailboat, it was perfect! We cruised for the day on a trimaran to a private island where we snorkeled and swam for the afternoon. As we passed other islands, there were structures built from the Dutch years ago still standing and easy to spot as we passed by. It was such a relaxing day and such a great start to the holiday week!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb