Move along, nothing to see here, move along...


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
August 15th 2005
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Maybe rush hour wasn't the best time to go outMaybe rush hour wasn't the best time to go outMaybe rush hour wasn't the best time to go out

Then again, I get the feeling it is always rush hour around here...
Vanessa is back at work and I am spending the day on administrative duty. After doing my laundry I head out across the road to find in the following order an ATM, a travel agent and a hotel agent. By coincidence I also find six million cars in my path (and nearly manage to get hit by one), and a slew of bajaj and ojek (motorcycle) drivers wanting to oversee my safe transfer across town. Just like in China, the pavement is the place to conduct business so you end up walking in the road anyway, past noodle eateries and bajaj repair shops. After winning the jackpot over at the bank and collecting three million rupiahs I go about spending them on plane tickets to Jambi and extending my stay at the Acacia one more time. Once again the hotel reservation agency is swamped with Arabs and it takes forever to wait inline. It is a good opportunity though to talk to some curious people.

Duties completed I head back to jl. Kramat Raya and go look for a shop in the market area just outside my hotel and find a little convenience store hidden away past all the stands.
More delicious snacksMore delicious snacksMore delicious snacks

Special mentioning to those shrimp crackers in the middle. Wicked!
This is where I must make the choice between a hideously fat milk or a slim one which is instead drowned in sugar and flavoured with chocolate. In the end I went with the chocolate one, must be a perfect pick for my chocolate cereal anyway... doctor's orders you know.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb