Weekending in Jakarta


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
June 8th 2008
Published: June 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

X2 in JakartaX2 in JakartaX2 in Jakarta

Female condom shaped light covering. My other photos from the club night came out very poorly....
Sunday June 8, 2008

This weekend I stayed with Jenni and spent most of the time tagging along with her, quizzing her on career options, and enjoying actually having a weekend off. Unfortunately, my new-country illness hit Saturday evening after she cooked dinner for the group here. I am rather delicate when it comes to nausea, and well… Anyways, my initiatory illness was pretty tame as far as gastroenteritis issues go. I was pretty much 100% by Sunday evening.

In spite of my unsteadiness, I did attend the wedding reception of one of the Indonesian guys who works in the office here on Sunday. Indonesian weddings are a two day affair, with the first day ceremony for family only, and the second day reception for 2000 of the bride and groom’s closest friends. Yes… 2000. So many guests that they assign different time slots for the groom’s friends and the bride’s friends. The wedding party stands in the front in quite magnificent regalia and greet the guests. It was certainly something!

Other than that, I mostly prepared for my imminent departure to Yogyakarta! You know, I lounged at the pool, had a “cream bath” (an avocado cream hair
Wedding 1Wedding 1Wedding 1

Pakistani band at the wedding.
treatment). We went on a shoping excursion in the expat enclave of Jakarta (we were on our way to visit an expat friend of Jenni’s, turns out this couple is good friends with a couple I met in Dhaka last summer; the expat community is quite small!!). In order to buy good coffee beans here (on the island of Java…) you really have to visit the bule (foreigner) stores. But, I did manage to get some coffee oleh-oleh (food souvenir) to bring home! I also picked up a shopping bag made entirely of Capri Sun (though actually these were Capri-Sonne!) containers! Mine was apple and fabulous!




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Bride and GroomBride and Groom
Bride and Groom

And they had to stand there dressed like that for many many hours!


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb