From Bali via Lombok to Flores


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Flores
December 17th 2005
Published: February 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On top of VolcanosOn top of VolcanosOn top of Volcanos

All the Indonesian islands have lots of volcanos. Some rise in the middle of the bigger islands, some just break the ocean surface with their peak, and some constitute whole islands on their own.
By the time I was in Bali I decided to pass through the rest of Indonesia as fast as possible. On reason was the weather. The rainy season was full on and I met hardly any other backpackers outside Bali. In addition I was longing for a break from all that asian food and life style. I hoped to be able to reach Australia for christmas. Since flight prices from Bali to Darwin were still considerable and I had been told about a boat connection from Timor to Darwin I just took the next bus available and changing from bus to ferry and back I made my way across all the island towards Timor. In Ende on Flores I had to wait for a couple of days for the next ferry to Timor.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

KomodoKomodo
Komodo

The ferry from Sumbawa to Flores passes Komodo Island the home of the Komodo Dragon. It looks rather dry and dusty over there, due to a national park fee an excursion is quite expensive.
Lebuhan BajuLebuhan Baju
Lebuhan Baju

is the port I arrived at on Flores Island. The usual tout group was already waiting...


Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 40; qc: 177; dbt: 0.1806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb