I Completed My Flores Journey. Where To Next?


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Flores » Maumere
August 8th 2017
Published: August 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Journey Across Flores

These are, of course, straight line distances. The Trans Flores Highway is long and winding. The actual distance traveled is closer to 350 miles.

I did it. I traversed Flores west to east (well, at least until Maumere) without hiring a personal car and driver. That would have cost upwards of US$50 per day. The majority of the travelers I met hired a car and driver. Excluding time spent at the two ends of the journey, the overland journey itself took five days; total distance traveled over the crazy, winding, up and down roads was probably over 350 miles. I took public buses, shared ride vans, bemo, and hitched rides from fellow travelers. Except for the two days getting to Moni and staying in Moni, the entire journey was smooth and very pleasurable. Flores is heart achingly beautiful. The people, other than those I encountered in Moni, are just wonderful. Many people have helped me without asking for anything in return.

Outside of Labuanbajo, Flores is not heavily touristed and tourist infrastructure is minimal. You go with the flow and just trust that things will work out. I have mostly felt taken care of, even in touristy Labuanbajo. There are almost no people harassing you to buy stuff. That is what I dread most about heading back to Bali.

My only regret about Flores is that I did not visit Riung on the north coast and its islands. A few hardy travelers I met did go there, and they reported enjoying it very much. I just could not stomach a five hour diversion each way from the main highway on long, winding and badly potholed roads. I also came here wanting to buy an ikat, but I haven't done so. I'm just not feeling it. After a few weeks of living out of a backpack, I realize how little I really need, and that clutter is a big source of stress for me. I need to simplify.



Coconut Garden Beach Resort is exactly what I needed after the stress and hassle of Moni. It bills itself as an eco-resort. I'm often cynical about places which describe themselves as such. The bamboo structures were beautiful and clearly made from sustainable materials, but I question the wisdom of planting impatiens and bougainvillea on a beach, and not having proper drainage in the outdoor showers (it just soaks into the sand, soap and shampoo and all).

The resort is isolated so it has a captive market for meals. The meals were organic and
Coconut Garden Beach Resort Coconut Garden Beach Resort Coconut Garden Beach Resort

The resort as viewed from the sea.
prepared from scratch. Other travelers complained about lack of meat dishes, but I was fine with that as I rarely eat meat. The meals were expensive by Indonesian standards. There isn't much to do other than laze on the beach. It was exactly what I needed. The beach is pretty, the sea is shallow and warm, and the sunsets are spectacular. The other travelers are relaxed, friendly and chatty, but they belong to a more upmarket demographic than most other travelers I have met on the road. They can't seem to relate to what the two Spaniards and I went through before we got to Coconut Garden.

I booked for only one night as this stay was a result of changed plans. It cost way over my budget anyway. I liked it so much that when I checked out at noon I asked the staff if I could stay on the premises until after dinner. They said yes. So, I had another lazy day sitting under the shade, snoozing away all day, and occasionally venturing out into the sea. Bliss.

I left Coconut Garden after dinner and moved to Capa Maumere Resort, the original place I had booked
Capa ResortCapa ResortCapa Resort

Infinity pool and beyond.
to recover from the rigors of the cross-Flores trip. I am staying here two nights, although in reality I am just here for under 36 hours. Capa is a nice resort, but there isn't a sandy beach there, just rocks and an infinity pool. I'm glad I'm not spending more time here as it isn't anywhere as captivating as Coconut Garden.




So, where to next? I really want to go to Tana Toraja in South Sulawesi. The Torajans are known for their funeral ceremonies and August is peak funeral season. But, Tana Toraja is a ten hour bus ride from Makassar city up winding mountain roads. I just can't face that right now. The one thing I hated about the trip across Flores was that I had to manage my intake of water in order to not have to go to the bathroom (remember, I was mostly at the mercy of bus drivers' biological and petrol refilling schedules). Before each travel day, I downed over a liter of water before going to bed and didn't drink anything two hours before the bus ride. The enforced dehydration wasn't pleasant as I am one of the most hydrated people
Capa ResortCapa ResortCapa Resort

Fishing boat.
you'll ever meet. I'll reserve Tana Toraja for a future trip, along with maybe an overland trip to the Togean Islands.

When I was planning this trip, I emailed Santra Putra, my go to place in Ubud, Bali, to ask if they had rooms available. They replied that they were fully booked for August. Yesterday morning, I emailed them again, and they said they could accommodate me for a week. I am booked to fly into Bali, although my original plan was to look at connecting there to other places. I think the universe is telling me to just go to Bali and enjoy myself there. I'm going to listen this time.


Travel Tip for Flores: The Lonely Planet's Flores chapter isn't particularly comprehensive. Supplement with information from travelfish.org.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Coconut Garden Beach Resort Coconut Garden Beach Resort
Coconut Garden Beach Resort

Looking out to sea.
Coconut Garden Beach Resort Coconut Garden Beach Resort
Coconut Garden Beach Resort

Floor of my cabin. Those are seashells under the glass.
Capa ResortCapa Resort
Capa Resort

Hello Meester!
Capa ResortCapa Resort
Capa Resort

Blue rocks on my verandah. One of the sights I missed was the Blue Rock Beach west of Ende. I passed it while I was on the bus but I could not stop. I did see lots of mining of the blue rocks - I saw them being harvested from exposed cliffs by the road, although I wouldn't be surprised if many are just taken from the beach. I guess some of them made their way to Maumere.
Capa ResortCapa Resort
Capa Resort

View inland.


8th August 2017

Enforced dehydration!
Hey! I totally get you on the enforced dehydration for those long bus trips! We are indeed totally at the mercy of those bus drivers for our relief stops! I like to sit close to the driver in case I have to ask him to stop. Also with you on the drinking plenty on non-travel days! Definitely go where the universe takes you! Enjoy Bali :)
8th August 2017

Yeah it sucked...
It was so much easier when I was in my 20s!
9th August 2017

Flores
Thanks for sharing your trip across Flores with us - it has always fascinated me but I've never been able to fit it into our plans. I'm normally good at it dehydrating myself for travel days too, but once on a large intercity public bus in Turkey I strayed from my plan and had to get the bus driver to divert to a small town so I could use the bathroom...I still cringe when I think of it. Looking forward to reading your stories of chilled out relaxation in Ubud x
9th August 2017

Flores is well worth a visit...
... but hire a driver and plan our your accommodations if you are on a specific timeline.

Tot: 0.32s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb