BALI, INDONESIA


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
January 8th 2015
Published: January 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Well we just spent the last 4 days in Bali. It's absolutely beautiful here!

I still haven't met an American on this trip!

The first two nights we stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel. It had the largest and most amazing pool I've ever seen. The weather here is around 86-87 degrees. The humidity isn't so great but we always had a pool nearby to cool off. The first day we spent laying by the pool and walking around the city. We went to the beach which was across the street from our hotel. I wasn't impressed. I love the ocean but it wasn't well taken care of. There was trash laying around and you couldn't even walk two steps without someone trying to sell you something. We didn't spend much time there. later that night we went out for a couple drinks. The beer that Bali is known for is Bintang. It was good and reminded me a lot like Heineken, but without the skunky taste. The second day we spent at the pool and had lunch at a restaurant called Rosso Vivo. It was the best meal I've had since I've been away from home. I ordered an Asian dish with chicken and noodles. I dont remember what it was called but I did take a picture. Later that night I think the jet lag kicked in because we both slept for about 12 hours!!!

The last two nights we stayed at Dewi Sri Hotel. It was a lot smaller but it felt more comfortable. The people there were so nice. In Bali, a lot of the tourists were Australian. As soon as we checked in we had a drink at the bar (they gave us a complimentary drink) and were welcomed by others staying there. While there we were told that there was a warning out for all tourists because of a possible terrorist attack. Apparently it wasn't unusual for this because it was a time where a lot of people vacation (they call it holiday) there. Most of our time spent there was by the pool trying to get some sun before going to Kanawa Island. We did a lot of walking around town, looking at shops and having beers at different places. The first night we did go out and play pool at a pool hall and bowling alley. We didn't stay out late because Jeremy is a wimp and had a headache. (Don't tell him I put this) The second day we relaxed by the pool and discovered Bintang Rattler. It has a lemon flavor and is sweeter. I will admit I haven't been drunk since I've been here and I really miss fireball and blackberry 😊 We got a massage that day as well and we only paid $23 total. I'd get one more often if it was that cheap in the U.S. We ended our night by playing rummy (I won all 3 games) and a late night swim.

We woke up at 6 am to pack and we are now at the airport in Bali to fly to Labuan Bajo. it's about an hour and a half flight. Once we arrive we take a ferry to Kanawa Island. We will have no running water or electricity for 4 days! Wish me luck! Knowing me I'll probably enjoy not having to get ready or care about anything. Jeremy is going to scuba dive and I'll probably lay by the beach and do a lot of reading. We fly back to Bali on the 12th and I'll let you all know how it was.

I miss and love you all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb