3 Gillis in a POd


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
January 20th 2012
Published: January 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

3 Gillis in a pod...

The Gillis consist of 3 island - Gillis T, Gillis Mino, Gillis Air (short form). We arrived at Gillis T. Now there really isn't a harbor, you pretty much have to catwalk along the side of the boat by holding on to the rails to get from the back to the front and if you miss the rail you are going under and say good by to your camera and electronic equipments.... I would recommend not taking any boats if the weather is bad....you risk cap sizing and most likely getting everything wet..

The Gillis are all pretty small so you can island hop. You can rent a bike or walk around the island in just over an hour. The bikes have seen better days, most are rusted to the point of no return and brakes are about about 30% at best. It was like riding your grandma's bike...

We spent most of the day exploring and snorkeling. Snorkeling is amazing - we saw a giant turtle taking a dump - I had to confirm with Jenni afterwards to make sure I wasn't imagining a torpedo shooting out of the turtle's butt.

I found a huge sea urchin and right away I wanted to agitate it even though I knew I shouldn't but I guess I was still holding a grudge from getting spiked in the feet back in Nusa Dua. I would of loved to eat this guy for breakfast.

There are no police on the Gillis so it seems a lot of locals smoke up and offer it to you on a daily basis. Don't be fooled by the laid back atmosphere, you are still in indonesia. You do not want to spend the next 8 years picking up soap and getting quarter backed.

Low season you can really barter on accommodations...just walk around and check out a few places. But it's easier said then done when you have 40 lbs of gear and it's blistering hot. It's best to leave your bags somewhere first.

zenning in: I find it funny the Indonesian touts have the worst timing, I can be walking around with a huge heavy bag in the sweltering heat ready to past out from dehydration and they can see it on my face I am looking vile and probably need a gatorade but they still try to sell me magic mushroom. Do I look like I need to trip out right at this point.....I think I need to give these guys a copy of business 101 for dummies..

zenning out.



We have really lucked out with weather,it has been fantastic the last 6 days.

On Gillis Mino we lucked out and came across a huge party that only happens once a year. All the locals came out to party - they would setup bad trance music by the harbor and pretty much a rave broke out on the water. There were dad's, mom's, kids, grandparents all raving in the water....it was crazy site. However you risk being tossed in the water...we lucked out.

I have been operating at 75% lately but on Gillis Mino I finally succumbed to Bali Belly...it was world war 3 every hour...I was considering packing the hostel toilet. But that didn't stop me from snorkeling, the turtle would of been proud of me.

We spent another 2 days in Gillis Air to recover...surprisingly I quite enjoyed this island. It's not dead like Minos and not as busy as Gillis T - it was perfect.

The surf on the gillis ranges from bad to sick....on Gillis Air there is a brown short break which basically is a right hander huge barrel - even the locals don't surf it....so not much surfing.

Lately we have been mango hunting - apparently it's out of season so they are hard to come by. But when you do luck out and get some it is on like donkey kong...heeehonggg

We found one place that had mango so both Jenni and I orderd it...I asked for all mango on my fruit platter and they took all the mango's from Jenni's plate and gave it to me and left Jenni with zero mango....score...Jenni didn't share my same enthusiums

Lately it seems I have been getting all the mango's in our mango mission's, Jenni has been getting none...

Advertisement



18th February 2012

World War 3
You had me laughing so hard with your turtle and Bali Belly...sorry you had to experience that but it made for a good laugh if that makes you feel better.

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb