For the pictures....jerks!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
July 25th 2006
Published: October 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok so I'm just putting this up so you guys will realize I put pictures on. The last blog was a half-assed effort at Bali and Gili Trawangan off the coast of Lombok. The pictures on this one are from Kuta Lombok and Sumbawa. This is taking hours so I'm having a (some) beer (beers). Hope you enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Square or surfer?Square or surfer?
Square or surfer?

Ok so I'm not the best surfer. Look at the size of that board. A gorilla could surf on that thing.
This is how Marlboro makes their millions.This is how Marlboro makes their millions.
This is how Marlboro makes their millions.

These poor guys only get paid 20,000 Rupiah a day for working at the tobacco plantation. Sounds like a lot? Just over two bucks.
Future smokers?Future smokers?
Future smokers?

Kids work for the tobacco companies too. I think I was just starting school at that age.
Wedding ProcessionWedding Procession
Wedding Procession

Man was this crazy. This area in central Lombok is a bit dangerous for tourists because the people there generally don't like us. We watched as the bride was brought back to the family after spending time with the groom. The young people were cool but some old people really wanted us the hell out of there.
Ing and IIng and I
Ing and I

This was the harbour connecting us from Lombok to Sumbawa. We went with friends Nas from Singapore and Ing from Kuta Lombok by motorbike.
Pellet man!Pellet man!
Pellet man!

That's strange. I used to work with a guy named JM. He was a fairy too! Funny thing is in Indonesia ferrys "go down" all the time. Kinda like my workmate back home.
Surfer DudesSurfer Dudes
Surfer Dudes

Nas and Ing deciding not to surf Scar Reef the first day.
Scar Reef sunsetScar Reef sunset
Scar Reef sunset

The place looks placid in the evenings but the thundering waves wake you up in the middle of the night.
Ugly monkeyUgly monkey
Ugly monkey

We were feeding this ugly baby monkey bannanas so one day he can grow up to be a big ugly monkey.
Geezer GuitaristGeezer Guitarist
Geezer Guitarist

This guy abused my guitar for a few minutes in an attempt to sell us peanuts. No cigar, old buddy.
No escapeNo escape
No escape

This was a secluded beach...with people selling absolute crap.
Party NightParty Night
Party Night

This is me and a Baslinese guy named Aghee. I think he wanted me to buy him a drink. Guess I'm not such a good friend after all...drinks here cost like 3 bucks. Expensive!!!


Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb