monkey lovin.


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
February 15th 2008
Published: February 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so my jet lag is completly gone...well mostly i guess. i am not waking up at 5 or 6 am anymore, and can make it to a reasonable hour.

Everything here in Bali, is pretty cheap. I am a millionaire!! Seriously....1 million rupiah is like 150 bucks. I love going to the bank machine to take out a million rp. A meal is roughly 50000, so like, 5 bucks. a big giant beer is 18000, so almost 2 bucks...i found a nice guesthouse overlooking some rice paddies (and a pool to which i do not have access too) for 60,000. Its 9200 to the canadian dollar, so you can get the idea.

So, i am on kind of a tight budget. I need to make my money stretch the entire 3 months, and one thing i advise, when you are traveling, is to take all the money you have for this trip, and divide it by the number of days you have. I have roughly $33 per day. Its totally do-able, with some DISAPRINE (disapline hehe).

One thing I have is spare time. I go for lots of walks, read alot, and write notes to my girlfriend, who i miss so so so so much. Theres this hurting feeling in my tummy from it, or, its a tumor. lets hope its not the latter.

I went to the Sangeh monkey forest, i will get the photos' up tomorrow. I had monkies crawling all over me, and one bastard stole my peanuts right out of my hand. Its funny watching them. There are gangs or 'cliques', and they dont like each other. Then in each gang, there is a big jerk monkey (i named him El Brent) who doesnt let anyone have any peanutes, and tries to beat up the other monkies when i give them peanuts.

The scenery here is just amazing. the people are so friendly, i have not left Ubud just yet, i want to spend most of my time in bali here, as its so peaceful, non-touristy (compared to most areas) and very very cultural.

I am going to a hindu dance celebration tonite, i might have to buy a sorong (there is nothing sowrong with a sorong!) to watch, but hey, if theres any place to get away with wearing a dress, other than my house when my mom is not home, its here in asia.

Well, thanks for reading, i love your comments, it keeps me back there with you (without the shitty weather).

Take care,

Ty

Advertisement



15th February 2008

tummy ache
They say the tummy is connected to the heart so I can see why we are both suffering from similar aches... i miss you constantly too, but I am so proud of you and think you are getting wiser oh young master, the force is strong in you, I can see that. I miss the monkes in Taiwan and in Bali, they are such cute little assholes. I once saw a monkey gang fight like in the gangs of new york, only with weird deer/rabbit things as one gang and street dogs in another, it was weird and scarring... LOVE MARTOWN
15th February 2008

WTF are U
I was looking at the Map and where are you
15th February 2008

Monkey nuts
The Sangeh Monkey Forest sounds pretty awesome, I guess its safe advice to always protect your nuts! How's the yoga? Did you find your phone charger at all?
16th February 2008

yep!
found the charger, thanks. yoga is going pretty good. never felt so hippy like before! thanks again for helpin me out scott! see you in may!
16th February 2008

comment on #4
love you
16th February 2008

myles, i am in Bali. in a village called Ubud.
16th February 2008

bali is hard to find on a map. its in indonesia, a small island just south of a bigger island called Java.
22nd February 2008

i totally got a mental picture of elbrent all monkified. hehehe
28th February 2008

monkeys can be pushy in asia. when i was in nepal one grabbed a chocolate bar right out of my hand. i put my coke down to take a picture of this (bad move) and another stole my coke and was drinking it! another one stole my glasses right off my face! watch out for pushy monkeys!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb