ceremony upon ceremony


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
March 22nd 2007
Published: March 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Don't evenknow how to begin or how to describe the last few days....I think I have to go into a limbo stage where I can process what I've seen. These people really LIVE their customs - how they keep it up with the western influence, I don't know.....but they are detrmined to do so....and the kids / adolescents seem to be right along with it.
Yesterday a village procession; a cremation; offerings, draping of the body (a very old woman high priestess)....later a visit to a village doktor (healer) who seemed to be using a sort of acupressure and he was able to clear and diagnose a lot of symptoms for all of us.
None of this seems forced or like we are on some western tour - we're just being shown around by Surya and Judy - their own "mixed marriage" is a wonder to us all, what with the strong traditions here - dunno what his family must have made of his leap into her world and her into his (20 yrs ago).....but it all seems to be working.....
Today I'm dripping with humid sweat......doing a little last minute shopping and counting of money. Getting on a plane for Singapore in 2 days and will see Arye and find out how Vietnam was....and what's happening with his love life! Then home.......I actually think I'm ready!!

Advertisement



23rd March 2007

time travel
Oh my dear--you feel like you've been gone for years--and today is the first time i've remembered to bring your blog address to town so that I could look at it--and you have been living the travel life where each day brings as many new adventures as a year of home life. I am so happy for you and I WANT to go to the guest house (need?!) Love, Dana

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb