Goodbye Asia: Part II. The Bali Experience


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Seminyak
August 7th 2011
Published: August 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Way to Bali


Aug 2nd - 7th

I finally made it to Bali after flying from Istanbul to Doha, Qatar to Singapore to Denpasar, Indonesia. I was stuck next to a large smelly guy with three kids that ran all around the plane and his arm was halfway in my seat blocking all my air con. Fun Fun! Anyways I made it alright and was excited to see what I came for... and for the third time, meet Nicci. We will be spending a good amount of time together again as we plan to spend a few days relaxing in Bali before we head to Australia where we rented a campervan and plan to drive from Cairns to Melbourne for roughly 6-8 weeks. This will probably be a shorter entry since most of what we have been doing is relaxing, the life of a backpacking world traveler can get rough and stressful (wink wink). While Nicci has been in Indonesia for a few weeks, I will be joining her for the last 5 days just in Bali. For the second time in my life, I am now south of the equator. Oh, i am officially adding two more goals to my list, “Build a sandcastle” and “Eat at a McDonalds in each country possible from this point on.” Since I have a flight to Oz (nickname of Australia; get used to it) soon, i will make this quick.

I didn’t get in till night. Food. Sleep. Beach. Jellyfish. Catch up. BBQ. Pool. Food. Drinks. Giant chairs. Connect four. Drunk Alan. Passed out. Slept in. Pool. Food. Sleep. Pink motor bike. City of Kuta. T-shirts. Beach. Food. Sunset. Beer & bananas. Terrifying motor bike ride where we saw a serious motorbike collision right next to us which i had to swerve from hitting a guy thrown off his. End of motorbikes. Sleep. Now walking. Beach. Drinking & food. Sunset. Sleep. Taxi to the famous Padang Padang Beach to watch surf competition. No surf competition today but nice beaches. Wild monkeys. Food. Cut hand falling on coral rocks after learning balance yoga techniques from Nicci. According to Nicci, i bitched about my hand. Uno. Sore loser (i swear i cannot win at Uno). Sleep. Check-out. Shopping (i bought about 15 new release dvds like hangover 2 and cowboys & aliens for about $12). Getting ready for flights to Oz!

Any questions?


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb