Just doing my rescue course


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Sanur
July 6th 2010
Published: July 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I've just spent two days doing even more theory on first aid sort of things but specific to scuba diving. It has been quite fun pretending to be a victim though, especially a panicked victim where you have to try and go for the other person and be as annoying as possible. Still haven't dived in the sea yet though!! That's tomorrow afternoon so not long to have to wait. I can't believe how tired I've been since being here. We have to meet at the dive centre at 8am and we don't finish until about 6pm. That doesn't include the theory you have to do in your own time either. I haven't had time to go to the beach yet. It's only 500 metres from my hotel room as well.

The evenings have been fun as well. We went to a bar where there are a lot of scuba divings to do some 'networking' as the others here are all going to be looking for jobs once they qualify. It ended up raining really hard so of course we had to stay in the bar. When the staff left, we were still there. Our instructor was with just and he knows the place well so went behind the bar and helped himself. When it stopped raining we left for a little local place to have some food at 2 in the morning. We all drove on our little mopeds and I was the one who left their helmet upside down on the handle bars. Combined with a wet seat, I was soaked. The locals near by laughed at me when I poured a fair amount of water out of my helmet. It was quite funny ordering food by just pointing to various dishes. I was really enjoying the food until I noticed that my lips were tingerling quite a lot. I looked more closer at the noodles I was eating and realised I wasn't eating tomatoes but chilies. Let's just say I had quite a bit of rice after that.

It's quite fun having a moped to get around on. It hasn't taken long to get used to driving it. You can leave it anywhere with the helmet on the handles bar and it will be in exactly the same place whenever you come back. I've learnt the rules of the road too. Beep if you are over taking, beep if you are coming to a junction. Basically no ones looks so you have to let people know where you are. Avoid the few holes in the roads and that's pretty much it.

There are currently 6 other people who are doing there Dive master qualification (what I'm doing) and are then doing their instuctors course afterwards. I am also the person staying the longest. Someone else is leaving mid august so it looks like I've got enogh time to do the instructors course if I want to. It involves having to have done 100 dives and 15 full days in a class room learning all the theory. It would cost me about £1800 extra to do it so that's the only thing stopping me. I'm not sure what to do. If I did it, it would be possible to teach all the qualifications up to Divemaster, so that's a lot! It would also mean that if I every wanted to work as a scuba diving instructor, I would have no problems getting a job whether ever I wanted. The qualification doesn't run out as long as you read the annual updates so shouldn't be a problem.

I've starting to get biten now as it's getting dark so best be off.

instructor

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb