Bali, Indonesia


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Sanur
December 2nd 2006
Published: December 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Once arriving at the Denpasar, Bali airport we collected our bags and headed to the taxi stand. The taxi stand has set prices depending on location. I love this because it takes the hassle out having to bargain and not knowing if you are being ripped off. We stayed at Mercure Resort Sanur, which is a beach resort with Balinese style huts for the hotel rooms. The place is nice but we were disappointed to not have internet access in the room, since we choose the resort for that reason as their website advertised it. Our plan was to hole up for 5-6 days and let Scott work on his research paper. After a few days I stumbled across the information that some rooms were equipped with internet, so I complained and threatened to check out until they upgraded us at no cost.
Scott was unfortunate and got a bad case of food poisoning the first day in Bali. He was stuck in the hotel the first few days, so I set out on my own. The first day I just wandered around Sanur and bought a few sundresses and some snack foods. The second day my mission was to find a dive shop so I could SCUBA and to get plane tickets to Yogyjakarta and Jakarta at the end of the week. I went to the airport to buy the tickets directly; it saves about half compared to booking through an agency. Our ticket Bali to Yogyjakarta cost $65 for both of us on Guardia Indonesia Air and from Yogyjakarta to Jakarta cost $76 for both of us on Adam Airlines, which might be why they can not afford maintenance. I set up diving with Atlantis International to dive at Tulamben Bay for two dives at a cost of $95, which seems to be the going rate.
I wandered around Kuta (the main tourist area and the sites of the 2003 & 2005 bombings) doing window shopping and having a Starbucks. During my wandering I met a tour driver and scheduled for him to show Scott and I around Bali the two days.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb