Deluxe accomodation and "for the numbers challenged"


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Padangbai
February 23rd 2009
Published: February 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Deluxe accommodation at Padangbai Beach BungalowsDeluxe accommodation at Padangbai Beach BungalowsDeluxe accommodation at Padangbai Beach Bungalows

Queen sized bed, air conditioning and a TV with DVD for movies
I'm once again realizing the relativity of expense in adventure traveling. What is a budget for one is an impossible expense for others. When I took my first trip nearly 20 years ago, I had a very tight budget. I was between jobs, didn't know what I was going to do when I returned so assumed I had to manage every dollar carefully. So, I did. I counted every little expense. Seldom did I have a beer with dinner because that would double the cost. When I met friends on the road, we shared rooms to cut expenses. When saw things I liked in Guatemala, I didn't really look at them because I knew I couldn't afford them. Unfortunately, when I returned home and longed for the missed purchases, I had no chance for obtaining them and the image of them in my home lingered for a long time.

I learned from that experience though. For one thing, it is possible to have a great time, a great experience even on a very tight budget. I also learned that if I see something I really like; GET IT! Of course, some of the huge statues here carved from stone or wood are lovely but I have no real use for them at home. The fountains would be a lovely addition to my home but would be very expensive to transport. They will remain a lovely memory.

Which brings me to my current situation. I have met people who are traveling on a daily budget. They find an accommodation for Rp. 80,000 a night, often as low as Rp. 50,000 or 60,000. Whichever price range, breakfast is included. It's possible to eat at local Warung restaurants and have a meal for Rp. 20,000 and it's generally very good food! Do that twice a day, have a beer and a daily travel budget would run about Rp. 120,000 to Rp. 150,000.

A month before I left for this trip, the Rupiah was trading at 11,100 to the US dollar. Now, it is trading at Rp. 11,950 to the US dollar. Thus, a day of spending Rp. 120,000 would be about $10.00 US. I'm splurging on a deluxe hotel and a rented motor bike. My cost per day for both is currently Rp. 215,000 per day. If I were spending $20 per day, it would be costing me Rp. 240,000. I
Outdoor bathroomOutdoor bathroomOutdoor bathroom

This bathroom is bigger than some rooms where I stayed in the past!
feel like I am splurging and even on the days when I have spent a lot on healing and transportation I have spent less than $50.00 a day, my most expensive days and there have only been a few of those.

I meet people staying in hotels that cost $75 a day and met people in Hanoi who spent $450 for a real "deal" to them. For $75, I could travel for a week.

In Lovina wich is the farthest point directly North of Kuta on the ocean, I purchased a ticket on the Perama bus all the way to Kuta. It cost Rp. 100,000, about $9.00. The snorkeling was priced in dollars so was more expensive at $35 for the day. My healing appointment on the 26 with Mr. Ketut Arsans is priced in dollars and is what the locals call a "tourist" experience is $55.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb