Welcome to Hotel Bali-fornia!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Nusa Dua
April 26th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bali-Fornia Dream'n!


I am staying at the Conrad (Hilton Family) Resort in Bali and it is stunning .. truly amazing. When I arrived at the airport there was a BWM X5 waiting to take me to the resort. The drive there was, thankfully, uneventful. When we arrived at the hotel it was to a stunning scene -- a massive waterfall on a stone wall with two massive torches buring on either side -- so sorry I did not get a picture of that. (Will probably be back there in a few weeks, so will get one next time!)

Anyway, the entrance may have set one up for disappointment as it set such a standard... but no, the rest of the resort was just as opulent and wonderful. And the staff was even better. If you have a chance, visit the Conrad in Bali!

The only challenge with the Conrad is that it is quite far from Kuta, where most of the "night life" is... not a problem I guess, unless you want to go dancing etc. So I rented a motorbike (more on bikes later!) and headed into Kuta.

The first day on the bike I was pulled over twice -- once for no helmet and once for lights on during the day. Both times they tried to get me to bribe them for "clear up now". Both times I called their bluff, asked for a ticket, told them I was happy to go to court ("Can you give me directions? Is it in Denpesar?) and both times I was let off with a warning and NO bribe. Funny though, as I pulled away from the second batch, I asked where one would go for some clubs and dancing. The main guy says, "you looking for girls" so I said, sure (thinking, Ausie and Swedish backpackers) and he tells me to wait while he gets out his phone to get me a girl!!! I laughed and told him I was not looking for THAT kind of girl... cop by day, pimp by night. LOL.

So, in the end, when they realised what I WAS wasking, they suggested Kuta... so I headed there...



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Conrad BaliConrad Bali
Conrad Bali

They have amazing water features everywhere...


Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb