Still, still chilling in Kuta


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
March 28th 2008
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -8.72412, 115.17

Yes I'm still here in Kuta. Still hanging out by the pool, on the beach, daily spa visits and eating at great restaurants with obnoxious sunset views over the beach. I've bought three watches and a pair of sunglasses on the beach (nice knock-offs) and I now own NINE sarongs. Which I wear daily. I need to leave Kuta, it's a tourists haven and I've been drinking the Kool-Aid.

It's been fantastic to hang with Sha again, I can't believe it's been four years since we were living in London, but we didn't skip a beat! We've got a routine of meeting at the same lounge chairs by the pool every morning, and swimming to the pool bar to have the daily discussion of where we'll go for lunch (our toughest decision of the day).

Sha and her husband Ravi are flying out on Saturday and I've started thinking about what I want to do next. I'm thinking that I'll head up to Singapore either on Sunday or Monday. It's a cheap flight, and I'll officially be on mainland Asia, not an island. My goal is to travel overland from Malaysia to Japan. Of course that is impossible to do, and I know I'll end up on a plane again eventually, but I'd like to do as much on the ground as I can so I can see it, not fly over it. So, trains, boats/ferries, Jeeps, & trams are the plan. NO buses! at least not long rides, I'm going budget but I'm NOT doing any of those 14hour overnight bus rides. When thats the only option along with a flight, you'll see me on the flight - thank you very much. I'm not trying to be that rugged.

I've got pictures from the last two weeks that I haven't posted yet, but I just found this high-speed Internet cafe in Kuta, so I'll set aside some time on Sunday or Monday to upload and fix all these posts that don't have their pics with them!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb