Terima Kasih


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
September 7th 2013
Published: September 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Bali BoysBali BoysBali Boys

Schoolchildren enjoy the weekend in Kuta Beach.

In the end, maybe it’s wiser to surrender before the miraculous scope of human generosity and to just keep saying thank you, forever and sincerely, for as long as we have voices.
– Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love



I spend my final afternoon in Kuta Beach, the main tourist drag of Kuta in southern Bali. Heavy clouds drift overhead, casting a gloomy look on the long stretch of beach, though the general vibe of the area remains alive.

I stroll along the dirty-white sand, passing a surfing school doing lessons with a few tourists who are learning to conquer the waves for the first time. A group of schoolchildren does some extracurricular activities, running towards me as soon as I signal to them my camera. Vendors sell bottles of Bintang beer, shirts and souvenirs. Somewhere in the distance, a sound system intones the bass-heavy tune of a pop song. Waiters of a nearby restaurant walk by, placing offerings on the sand to appease the gods.

I find an empty spot under a palm tree and rest there for a while. A man approaches me and offers me a bottle of Bintang. I return his smile and buy one. I listen to the crashing waves and wannabe surfers laughing as they get pummeled out of their surfboards.

My weeklong trip has taken me across Java and brought me here in Bali. I’m physically exhausted and
Tourist and LocalsTourist and LocalsTourist and Locals

A surfer walks past as a group of locals watches the waves.
while I'm not exactly broke, I'm pretty close. But it’s through this journey that I’ve come to learn more not only of Indonesia and myself but also of the innate goodness of humanity and a divine existence residing above human comprehension.

I feel a sense of calmness once more as I slide my fingers down the bottle, feeling its coldness. I recall that afternoon in Yogyakarta with Reni and remember the three wishes I wrote at the cross. I smile and take a couple of gulps from the bottle.

I then close my eyes and whisper, “Terima kasih.”

……….

P.S.

What I wrote on that paper (in Tagalog originally):

Dear God,

Bless Reni and her family and allow her to do her final pillar by letting her go to Mecca.

You know how I feel about . Please give me the courage to tell her.

Please, please, please. Let me survive this trip. Guide me.

……….

P.P.S.

A day after leaving Kuta, I was back in Jakarta, where I would spend another evening before flying back to Manila. I was trying to stretch what was
Surfer BoySurfer BoySurfer Boy

A local surfer
left of my money so I decided to walk from the Gambir bus station to my hostel instead of taking a taxi. It was around 11 p.m., so the streets were almost deserted. Then it started to rain. I made a detour to some random street and took shelter at a waiting shed.

When the rain weakened a bit, I resumed walking. But after half an hour, I realized I didn't know where I was on the map anymore. And as if being lost wasn't enough, the rain was gathering strength once again.

I went to another waiting shed in an empty street to wait for the rain to pass, and try and figure things out. I was now willing to take a taxi, though since it was very late, there weren't any passing by, except for three that already had passengers. After what seemed like eternity, as I was sitting there, a motorbike stopped a few meters away, its driver just looking at me. I felt a chill run down my spine.

Of course, my instinct told me to at least ignore the man, if not walk away. But for some reason, I felt the need
Made's WarungMade's WarungMade's Warung

Nasi goreng at the famous restaurant in Kuta
to walk in his direction. So I did. And then he talked to me in English.

“Do you need a ride? Where are you going?” he asked.

“To Cikini,” I said, believing he was an ojek (motorbike taxi) driver. I realized that I couldn’t walk anymore, not in this weather. I was prepared to bargain hard. “How much?”

The man shook his head. “Oh, no, no, no, no, no! I’m taking you there for free.”

Story short, I took his offer. And it was during the ride to my hostel I learned that my driver’s name is Joshua, a pastor of a church in Central Jakarta, who happened to be on his way home when he saw me.

“You looked so confused out there,” he said, “so I stopped. I knew you needed help.”

I thanked him.

He said, “No, don't thank me. Thank God. You were a sheep that was literally lost so He sent me to guide you.”

..........




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Kuta BeachKuta Beach
Kuta Beach

The main gate of Kuta Beach


18th September 2013

It's wonderful how God answers prayer...
in such practical ways. For me, this is one way I know He is there and cares. We also need to be open to His leading to serve as His angels to others, just as the pastor was.
19th September 2013

God Answer Our Prayers
Whatever religion or belief we practice, if we ask God for guidance and help, God will give us the answer. The answer can be so subtle, but it can be so frankly as well. oh anyway, this one is really good prayer: "Bless Reni and her family and allow her to do her final pillar by letting her go to Mecca. You know how I feel about __________. Please give me the courage to tell her."
19th September 2013

I agree.
I was kind of having minor emotional and spiritual issues a few weeks before and that particular tour somehow restored my faith and gave me hope for certain things. Funny that I found solace while learning about other religions. Goes to show how the goodness of humanity is universal. But... whoa! Those are actually two separate wishes! Hahaha! I was talking about another person in the second wish. I should edit that now. Reni's boyfriend might punch me. Hahahaha!
20th September 2013

Terima Kasih
It’s wonderful to know that I was redirected to this blog and read your story about faith and love. You reply my message then, and i also reply you back. i think there is a purpose prepared by God for me to read your story, since now I’m in the state to gather my courage also for a girl that I love also. Seriously, after reading your blog i also ask God for giving me strength to tell her my deepest feeling. :) Wow, I thought that it is the same line. Haha. well, I don’t know whether you already tell your feeling to someone you love or not, but I really hope the best thing happen for you. Terima Kasih
20th September 2013

Wow!
So good to know I've inspired someone. :) Well, hope you also find the courage. Sama-sama!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb