Where am I spending Canada Day?


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
July 1st 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Leaving BorneoLeaving BorneoLeaving Borneo

Looks nice. It was nice and expensive anyway.
Well I'm in Bali, of course!!! Nothing could have been more of a relief than the beach. I've been surfing the past few days away. I took a lesson the first day and I guess I caught on pretty easily. Definately not a pro though. It made me realize how unfit I really am. I think after a week of surfing a guy would be in OK shape.
Here's the scoop. Borneo was just not set up for backpackers. It's a place for people who are on a holiday to go and hike in the jungle (or up southeast Asia's highest mountian) and see some really cool stuff. From pictures I saw, the scuba diving there looked absolutley stunning. But it's all group tours and tour guides (huge fees), and entry fees to parks, and not a cheap bed to sleep in to be found.
Enough of that crap worrying about spending 4 or 5 times as much per night than some of the other countries I've been. Rhiannon and I flew to Bali. Best decision ever. Indonesia is super, super cheap. Actually, the biggest blunder of my trip was to go to Borneo. It would be perfect for someone not
On the way to BaliOn the way to BaliOn the way to Bali

That's Mr. Cool and his buddy Rhiannon flying to Bali. Man we were excited.
on a backpacker's budget though. I don't wanna make it sound horrible. I would have loved to see a lot of the sights there.
And now for Bali : We stay in a nice hotel up from the beach for like seven bucks a night. It includes breakfast and there's a sister hotel we can use with a pool (swim up bar too!) and a huge projector screen for movies at night. Awesome.
Again, soccer is ruining my fun. Yep, the world cup is still going. Every bar plays like two games a night so nobody is even partying, they just sit around the tube like zombies and cheer once in a while. Not a good way to spend Canada Day, which I guess I'll have to do tonight.
Being in Bali is kinda like being back in Thailand. In Borneo Rhi and I hardly saw another traveller...maybe a few (including a couple from the US that sold their house and now sail around the globe in their own boat. Cool!) but it was like, "Holy crap, a white person!". Bali is full of hoiday-ers living it up. There were a couple terrorist bombings in the area a couple years
Ice Cream ManIce Cream ManIce Cream Man

This guy was one of my best friends in Bali. He walked the beach all day selling ice cream. For some reason the nickname he chose for himself was Ricky Martin.
ago but I'm not too worried about bombs. I guess it's one of those "It won't happen to me" feelings.
****Check out my last blog I put more pictures from Borneo on.

Advertisement



2nd July 2006

Hey
Hey man, good to hear your still enjoying yourself. I have a week holiday from July 26th-August 2nd and I'm going to book a flight to Bangkok tomorrow. If you happen to be around Thailand during that time let me know and we can meet up for a few cold ones.... Later
17th July 2006

Hope your ok
Hey Scott Just a little worried about how you are. Tsunami is not a good thing.. let us all know k
1st August 2006

Tuah
Ur still wearing the necklace Tuah made you - cute!

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb