Bali in your Face


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
May 23rd 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sunset Kuta BeachSunset Kuta BeachSunset Kuta Beach

On this Western facing beach you were sure to get a good sunset most days. I seemed to have a whole week of clouds in the distance that spoiled most of the sunsets, however this one was quite nice. You can also see that the tide has gone out making the beach massive and a perfect place to spend an evening playing game of soccer and volleyball.
You wake up one morning and the calendar says it is time to move. Am I ready to leave this place. Sure I've been here for almost 3 weeks, but was that enough. I just started to really feel like I know this neighborhood, city, region, country.... and now you want me to go? It happens like that. There is excitement attached to a touch of sadness. You are going to a new place, but you are leaving what is now familiar. If you stayed you would without a doubt dive deeper, drop to further depths of culture and knowledge. You may even meet that special somebody today that changes your life. At the same time all that could be waiting for you when you get to your next location. This is how it happened for me on May 15th of 2008. I woke up in Vientiane Laos. Three weeks had passed since I crossed the border from Thailand. What a distant memory Thailand is now. Laos has been my home and land of discovery. The itinerary says the flight leaves at 1pm. I only have 4 hours. It is really over. But Bali Indonesia is waiting for me on the
Kuta BeachKuta BeachKuta Beach

Take a second to look away from the flashy lights, fancy hotels, expensive night clubs, and heaps of tourists... you might just see Kuta Beach. A heaven for surfers and backpackers looking to spend a day in the sun, surf decent waves, eat cheap and delicious food, and make great Indonesian friends.
other end of the flight. With a quick stopover in Malaysia to change planes, I should be in Kuta Bali by the evening. The rush of moving on to a new Country.... it far surpasses any change of town, city, or even province.


The cool evening air whips across my face as I speed down Jelan Legian. My cloths are drenched in sweat from the vigorous workout I just had at Ade Rai’s Hammerhead Gym. The breeze against my wet clothes gently cools my whole body. As I swerve around the slower traffic and avoid the oncoming cars with expert precision I find myself driving through a thick cloud of smoke. That smoke which bellows out into the street from the restaurant on the corner is filled with the sweet smell of chicken sate. A long bed of burning hot wood chips with chicken skewers spread over them. The fan, directed at the BBQ to keep the coals hot, doubles as an advertisement for the restaurant. The aroma for sweet marinated chicken almost makes me subconsciously pull my motorcycle off the road for dinner. That’s right, my motorcycle. All 100cc of pure asian power between my legs propels
Hammerhead GymHammerhead GymHammerhead Gym

Since I decided to set up shop in Kuta for 8 days I figured why not find a gym to go do my exercise at. Not that the beach wasn't a great place to exercise, and surfing itself is a workout. But finding some proper weights and a no hassle place to work out is always nice. I found Hammerhead Gym online and for about 35 dollars got a 10 day pass.
me swiftly through the crowded and crazy streets of Bali. I just finished my evening workout at the gym and now I’m making the 15 minute drive through a maze of one way roads to the night market. A quick left, then right, and now I’m on a back alleyway that weaves past countless small eateries that are packed with locals. Another right turn and back left and I find myself back on Jelan Legian right in the heart of Kuta tourism. Surf shop after surf shop, with clubs, restaurants, bars, and retail stores mixed throughout. Hundreds of people walking up and down the street, window-shopping, answering to the local touts who offer their transport services. I hear a loud whistle and turn to see a parking attendant that is flagging down traffic to allow a parked car an opportunity to back out and enter the flow of traffic. The other cars on the road obey the waving command of the parking attendant while the rest of us on motorbikes maneuver around the obstruction. Thump, thump, thump… the club music has already started at Bounty, the very popular night spot in Kuta. Down the road a bit I hear an
Nasi CampurNasi CampurNasi Campur

Indonesian food has so much variety. With so many different Islands being influenced by so many cultures that have passed through you can keep you palate satisfied quite easily. Nasi Campur literally means mixed rice with a combination of meat, veggies, peanuts, seafood, etc.. on top. Here is my first Nasi Campur meal from the night market.
Indonesian cover band belt out the lyrics to a Gun’s and Roses tune. Kuta is a frenzy of activity this time of night and will continue to pump out energy until the wee hours of the morning. Another left and one more right turn and I’m just down the road from the night market. I kill the engine and hop off my bike. I walk up to the familiar face of the woman working the Nasi Campur food stand I have made my nightly eatery since I discovered it on my second night in Kuta. She smiles when she sees me, happy to have my continuing business and friendship. I walk behind the counter as she spoons a mound of rice onto my plate. She begins to spoon various different meats and vegetables onto my plate after I prompt her to do so. Chicken curry, jackfruit chicken curry, meet curry, bamboo shoots, spinach, eggplant, minced beef, swordfish, egg…. The plate piles higher and higher until I am certain I’ll be full. I sit down with my spoon in my right hand and fork in the left (a typical way to eat in my southeast asian countries… don’t ask for chopsticks
Chef Extraordinair Chef Extraordinair Chef Extraordinair

The woman behind the food. All those bowls you see behind her are uniquely flavored dishes that she and her sister make every day. There has to be about 50 of them and they all have a taste that is different. She was so kind to me and let me come behind the stall and talk food with her for about 10 minutes.
dude… you’re not in china). She serves me up a hot glass of tea which may sound strange but a hot glass of tea really does compliment a spicy meal on a warm evening (if you’re going to sweat anyways, might as well make it a good one). A little rice, some meat, veggies, a little chili sauce… each perfect bite gets washed down with some delicious tea. Eventually the plate is empty and I sit for a few moments and take in the atmosphere. Since I sat down a family of 4, mom, dad, brother and sister, arrived on their one motorbike. They all sat down and ordered dinner and drinks. The baby girl and I have been making faces at each other and smiling for the last 5 minutes or so. They have just come from worshipping. The young boy looks just like his father and mirrors his movements almost identically. They stand up to leave and pay all of 5 dollars for the four of them. Back on their motorbike and out of my life. I stand up and pay the $1.50, get on my bike, hand the parking attendant 5 cents, make a left and I’m
Surfs up RonaldSurfs up RonaldSurfs up Ronald

Ronald McDonald catching some waves at Kuta Beach. McDonalds is everywhere in the world. Each country I have been to with the exception I think of Laos. But they always have some funny Ronald McDonald statues out front. Bali was no exception. They also have McDelivery here 24 hours a day. You can order all the usuals plus things like fried chicken and rice. Don't ask me why I know that. By the way, on my 5th or 6th day in Bali someone ran a car into Ronald and broke him in half at the legs. OOPS.
back in the crazy flow of traffic in Kuta. Within minutes I arrive back at Segara Sadhu Inn, my room for the last week. I shower off the sweat from my workout and dress myself for the night. About 5 minutes out from the front door to my room I find myself on the beach. Nighttime on the beach in Kuta is perhaps the most enjoyable of anytime. While there are hundreds of people around, most of them are not there to bother you, and I can walk the beach and enjoy some peace. I do this almost every night. Head down to the beach after dinner, or with my dinner, sit down and enjoy the cool ocean breeze. Then I walk. The beach goes on for miles and miles. You could walk all night. Tonight my feet take me a few miles up the beach. I turn up a road and begin the journey back to my room. Through crowded streets and quiet ones, past big shopping areas and past small family compounds, the scenery changes at every corner, and if you pay attention you are bound to find so many unique shops and homes. It’s almost midnight by
Beach Front RoadBeach Front RoadBeach Front Road

This mess of hotels, restaurants, motorbikes, banks, shops, etc... faces the beach. So as you lay in the hot sun and bake away you are never far from western comfort.
now. I’ve been walking for a couple hours and after a long morning of surfing, and afternoon of laying in the sun and playing cards on the beach with my Indonesian friends, an evening of working out at the gym, and a night of walking, I’m spent. The fan in my room spins overhead and the gentle thump thump of the ocean beach club down the road is all that I hear as I drift off to sleep.


I had arrived in Bali on May 15th and wanted nothing more than to find a place to stay for a week or more. I felt like I had been on the move for the better part of two months. Even in some of the places I visited where I stayed more than 4 or 5 days, it was never planned and I always felt like I was moving. It can wear on you after a while. Unpacking and repacking your backpack every couple days, getting on busses and boats, taking flights… I really wanted to just set up shop somewhere and remove all the thoughts of moving for a little bit. So in Kuta, my first stop in Bali,
Typical Beach Food StallTypical Beach Food StallTypical Beach Food Stall

For what must be miles of beach front there are stalls set up like this that serve Javanese specialties as well as Balinese delights. A favorite among the surfers is rice with some selection of meat, topped with chili sauce and served in a cone shaped piece of parchment paper. My favorite was Gado Gado, a mixed veggie and rice dish served with a peanut sauce. I also frequented the fried tempeh lady next to Gado Gado lady every day. She served up a really good cup of hot tea. They came to know me well and was always a delight to see their faces after a long session out in the surf.
I rented a room for 8 days, a motor bike for the duration of my stay, a surfboard for a week, and purchases a week long membership to the local gym. I was determined to find some routine in my days here while still remaining open to whatever opportunities presented them to me. I was going to surf everyday, as many hours as I could handle. I was going to go to the gym and work out with weights, a luxury I have not had for the vast majority of my trip. I was going to eat terrific Indonesian food everyday on the beach and at the markets. Hopefully along the way I’d meet some good people and get a taste of what Bali is all about. Turns out I met terrific people, both backpackers and locals. As far as getting a taste of what Bali is all about, I would say that Kuta is not the place to do that. You can get a taste of Kuta is all about, but to say that Kuta is a great representation of Bali is a flat out lie. Kuta has become the tourism hub of Bali and if you don’t pay
Hey Boss, Surf Today?Hey Boss, Surf Today?Hey Boss, Surf Today?

For every 20 feet of sand you'll find another collection of surf boards just like this. Some Indonesian guy sitting around trying to get you to rent a board from him. They all same the same thing and when you finally make a deal for around 4 bucks for a day you are bound to get a new friend out of the deal. I rented a board for the 8 days I was in Kuta from these guys named Thomas Cook and Gede. They became my good friends by the end of the week.
attention closely you can completely miss any remaining elements of Balinese culture that are around.

Despite the complete transformation that Kuta has undergone in the past 20 years, one thing remains the same. The Balinese people are incredibly kind. First you have to understand that this entire place is surviving because of tourism. The dollars are getting pumped through Kuta and the surrounding areas and everyone wants to get their hands on some of those dollars. If they don’t then their families suffer. It doesn’t take a trained eye to see that the tourism dollars are not being evenly distributed amongst the Balinese people. In many cases that money never sees the bottom of a Balinese pocket, as many western entrepreneurs have come to Bali and built big hotels, clubs, and restaurants that suck many tourism dollars right out of the local economy. With that said it is no wonder that lots of Balinese small business owner, street touts, and beach vendors are aggressive. They are trying to get you business before someone else does. You can expect a constant barrage of locals trying to sell you things, get you to come look in their shops, use their motorbike
Ice Cream Boss?Ice Cream Boss?Ice Cream Boss?

Someone must have told all these guys on the beach that calling someone boss is quite friendly. They all do it. These gents are the Wall's Ice Cream guys that walk the beach with their coolers and sell you ice cream while you sit in the hot sun. I never bought any from them but was tempted on occasion. One day a group of drunk backpackers befriended a Wall's guy and one of them grabbed his cooler and started to walk the beach selling ice cream for him. He actually made a sale. It was quite funny.
for transport, take their taxi, rent their surfboard, get a massage at their shop… the list goes on. You go through stages with it. At first you might be overwhelmed. Then you may just find it all humorous. There is going to be some eventual irritation and frustration. Then perhaps you’ll be angry. And once again you may transition back to humor. But behind all of that are genuinely great people. Whether you decide to give them business or not you can more than likely be assured that if you stop to talk to them they will be might friendly and may perhaps become your friend. When you decide to do business with them I found in general they are pretty honest and won’t try to rip you off, and if they do not too bad. This of course was my experience with the young guys that I rented my surfboard from. For just about 5 dollars a day I had myself a surfboard for an entire week. No questions asked, no passport exchange, no “where do you stay”, just money in their pocket and a surfboard in my hand. Plus, everyday I came down to the beach I was
More BeachMore BeachMore Beach

Nothing needs to be said here.
able to keep all my belongings at their surf board rack, I never felt like my valuables were in jeopardy of being stolen, they played cards with me for hours everyday, talked with me, laughed with me, did magic tricks with me, and we just genuinely great company. Sure I had to bargain with them on that first day on the beach. But in the end I felt like I knew them pretty well. Gede introduced me to his son, I showed Thomas some of my magic trick secrets, and when my Mom finally came to Bali to meet me they insisted that I bring her by to meet them and sure enough I did.

Then there was Ketut. Ketut is Balinese for fourth child. This may not be news to many of you. In fact if you read the score “Eat Pray Love” then you know that Ketut is the name given to most fourth born children in most families in Bali. Names like Wayan are given to the first born, Made the second, and Nyoman the third. A fifth gets the name Wayan and the order starts all over again. Their like nicknames only they stick. So
Celebrity StatusCelebrity StatusCelebrity Status

Most nights I found myself sitting on the beach watching the sunset alone. Might sound lonely but I really loved it. It was a perfect time to reflect on the blessings of my journey. Plus people were never too far away as the beach was always crowded in the evening with Indonesian and Westerners alike. On this night all these Muslim women walked past me and asked if they could take photos with me. One by one they lined up for pictures and then in a mad rush they all crowded around and snapped away like the paparazzi. I all happened in less than a minute and I was just as confused as all the other people on the beach who witnessed this event.
walk out into the street in Bali and yell Ketut and you’re likely to get several heads turning. As for my Ketut, the one I met my first day in Bali, he was another example of a charming guy who was trying to sell me something but turned out to be a great contact and friend. He rented me my motorbike for the week. Once I had agreed to rent from him he was constantly trying to help me out in any way he could, finding me better deals on accommodation, the cheapest surf boards, easy transportation, and if I needed anything he worked for Kodak and could probably get me a good price. He spent an entire hour one afternoon just driving me around to find a better deal on accommodation. Ultimately I stayed at the place I had been at since night one but it was quite a nice gesture. He too got a chance to meet my Mom when she arrived and he was kind enough to arrange some transportation for she and I to Ubud through his friend K.K.

“Get the hell out of Kuta!” These words were playing themselves over and over in my
Segara SadhuSegara SadhuSegara Sadhu

This is my guesthouse. My room is just above the one pictured. The motorbike with the baby blue helmet, that was mine. I jammed around Kuta, Legian, Seminyak, Sanur, Denpasar, and more on that hog. It was a thrill to be in the mix with the hundreds of Balinese people on motorbikes. I made sure to be very safe, don't worry Grandma & Grandpa.
head when I arrived in Bali. Someone I had met on the backpacker circuit had told me that Kuta was not the place to stay. Granted, he had a magnificent time in Indonesia, and the best times he spent were not in Bali but on Java, the island to the West of Bali. So it makes sense that he would tell me to get out of Kuta and head somewhere else, that is where he found peace and joy. But time and again on this trip I have found peace when others found chaos, I have experienced fun where others met lack of stimulus, and I have discovered culture where all you see on the surface is buckets of booze and repeats of Friends playing on TV. Perhaps I was eager to do just the opposite of getting the HELL OUT OF KUTA. In a place that is so filled with tourists you may think that making friends with locals and getting to know Balinese or Indonesian people would be absent from the experience. But aside from the surfing and great food, my time in Kuta will be memorable to me because of the terrific Indonesian people I met and
Guesthouse PuppyGuesthouse PuppyGuesthouse Puppy

This little puppy lived next door to the guesthouse and was more or less the guesthouse mascot. Here he plays around in the plants and rocks next to where I was having breakfast.
the relationships I made. There are countless people that I am certain I could return to in a years time, walk up and say hello, and without hesitation they would remember me and we would share a great laugh and conversation. I already told you about Ketut, Gede and Thomas, the night market Nasi Campur lady, but there were plenty more.

On the beach each day I had two food stops that were mandatory. First off the food was terrific and demanded a daily indulgence. Secondly, when you are surfing for that many hours the calories never seem to get replenished and you are just hungry. Thirdly, the two women running these adjacent food stalls were so nice and warm that I got happy each time I saw them. The first lady servee me sweet hot tea and fried tempeh. Each morning she would fry up a big batch of tempeh, tofu, battered bananas and potatos. They would sit in a giant plastic crate just waiting for folks to come up and grab them. I would also get about 5 or 6 pieces of tempeh, cover them in chili sauce and a drizzle of sweet soy sauce. That along
Club BountyClub BountyClub Bounty

This was the most popular club in Kuta. I can't tell you why that is because I never went inside. But apparently it was a great party 7 nights a week with good dancing. You do get a mix of Indonesians and Westerners in all these clubs.
with my tea would run me about a dollar. I would grab a small plastic stool and have a seat, chatting away with this woman who loved that I loved her tempeh. She always asked me if I had a girlfriend and when I came by one day with a girl I had just met on the beach to have tea she was so excited to see I had a female companion. She asked me about her each day after that.

The other lady on the beach that I got to know was serving up Gado Gado. This dish is a mix of steamed vegetables and peanut sauce. Other ingredients get tossed in depending on who is making it and where they are from. She liked to put in small bits of tofu and rice. But the key to a great Gado Gado is in the peanut sauce, and having tried many Gado Gado’s while in Indonesia I can say that this woman made the best by far. It all started one day when I was walking past her stand and I started to stare at a dish that some guy was eating. It of course was the aforementioned
Kaitlan and AlexKaitlan and AlexKaitlan and Alex

Two of the 4 Canadians that I befriended at my guesthouse. This is us out on our last night together in Kuta before heading separate ways.
Gado Gado, but I didn’t know that at the time. He pointed and said, “you want to try, very cheap.” Those 6 words are about all that need to be said to me to get me to try something. So he order me one. I watched the process closely. The magic all happens with a mortar and pestle. One chili, some palm sugar, salt, fermented prawn paste, slivers of young banana, and whole peanuts. She grinds away and slowly the ingredients become one. A little water gives the paste a sauce like consistency. In a short while there is no evidence of separate ingredients, just one smooth sauce, all mashed by hand. Then steamed green beans, bean sprouts, cucumber, tofu, and slices of rice that has been steamed in a banana leaf and formed into logs. The sauce and veggies are all tossed together and served up. I took so much interest in her preparation every day. She really appreciated my attention to detail. She would let me come behind the cart and look through the ingredients. The smile she would get every time I walked up to order another was priceless. All that love and deliciousness for a mere
The Girls Engaged The Girls Engaged The Girls Engaged

Something was capturing their attention. I think it was the Canadian owner of the club we were at. They really found him attractive. I think it was more that he was in a position of power then pure good looks. I think they would agree. The new player in the picture is Alyse.
50 cents.

The last group of friends I made that I will mention here in this blog were the men who came from Sumatra. Sumatra isn’t just a blend of Starbucks coffee. It is actually an island in the Indonesian Archipelago. This is the most Westerly island of the 5 major ones and these gentlemen came from a village at the far west reaches of Sumatra. They were Westerners… so to speak. They had come from their humble village, all the way to Bali, in hopes of learning valuable lessons about tropical fish farming. Since the tsunami that his this part of the world several years back they have been working hard to rebuild their lives. Their geographical location made their island and village one of the most effected by the tsunami. In the last two years they have made tremendous accomplishments in improving the infrastructure of their home. Now they want to learn how to profit from their waters. They were in Bali to learn how to successfully turn their fishing business into a surplus that they could export to countries like America. After saving money for 2 years this group of 12 men had organized and taken
A toast to a great night with great peopleA toast to a great night with great peopleA toast to a great night with great people

Margaritas... they were no Cantina margaritas, but good enough.
their first flight ever, and first trip off their island, to Bali via Jakarta. They stayed at my Guesthouse in Kuta and early one morning met me over a cup of coffee. We talked for a long time, almost 2, about everything I have already mentioned. They were happy to hear about my travels and home. We shared many stories in those 2 hours and exchanged contact information. They were very excited to have learned so much on their visit to Bali and were eager to get home and put their new tools to work in their village.

I managed to find a couple afternoons to get out of Kuta and explore the surroundings coastline. I even made it across to the east coast of Bali one day. But when it came down to it everything I wanted and needed was all within a short walk or motorbike ride from my room at Segara Sadhu. A great beach, wonderful people, incredible food, and an energy that was unlike any other place I have experienced in my life.

We made it… all the way to Bali.
I love you all for coming this long way with me.
Marcus
ShowgirlsShowgirlsShowgirls

At the Ocean Beach Club where we spent that last night together they had performances happening all night long. This was just one of the many. These girls danced around in their elaborate costumes while big guys performed fire shows in the back.





Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Free Shots Anyone?Free Shots Anyone?
Free Shots Anyone?

The one in the costume is on stilts and is walking around pouring free shots into customers mouths. Alyse takes her turn. Shortly after I get involved... I couldn't miss this opportunity.
MagicianMagician
Magician

I got one of the best personal magic shows of my life that night at Ocean Beach. This guy came up and started to play around with his cigarette in front of us. Next thing I knew it had disappeared and so began the 15 minute magic show that included cards, coins, fire, and more. He's a legend
Last day in KutaLast day in Kuta
Last day in Kuta

Eventually I came back to Kuta to meet up with my Mom. The Canadians had come back as well and we all spent a few hours together on the beach before saying our final goodbyes. Alyse and I pose for our last surf picture together.


22nd June 2008

funny faux sambistas
You sure took the tour Marc! It has been really nice to see where you have been and especially to see photos of your meals! I really love food myself. One thing that stood out to me in this blog that made me laugh was the Indonesian women in their faux samba garb. Was it a Brasilian theme dance or was it just the costume? What strikes me is that their own culture is so shockingly fascinating and pleasing to our western sight, but they still present what they know for sure the westerns like. (and besides anything brasilian, the westerners Love skin!) welcome back from the corners of our world, -C

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb