Another night in Canggu


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Canggu
November 18th 2012
Published: November 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I got into Surfing Dorms hostel around noon from Medewi. Dan the English guy and Zach the American were still there but the two girls from before (Australian and from the Netherlands) were gone and had been replaced by two Aussie girls. The electricity was out there and everywhere nearby so I just fixed myself lunch and waited around for the power to come back, which it did around 4. When it did I checked my email and dropped off my laundry and then decided to go for a surf down at Brawa beach, the nearest to the hostel. That was when I realized the only key to my scooter was missing. I looked for it for about an hour, with everyone's help, with no success. I knew it had to be there since I hadn't left the hostel except to go to the laundry place. I went back there and checked my pockets but found nothing. The girls lent me their scooter so I could go to the beach and I went with Zach for a sunset surf. Had a way better session than expected and we wer ethe last ones out of the water, waiting past dark for a wave to birng us in then party waving it back to shore. When I got back to the hostel I was determined to be REALLY thorough in my key search and finally found the key hidden in the hidden pocket in the hidden compartment in my backpack. I have NO IDEA how it could have gotten there, which shows how tired I was after the drive from Medewi.

With the key in hand I drove up to the main road for dinner, but found it closed for a "ceremony" (which explained all the thatching I had seen the villagers doing on my way through the mountains). Luckily I coud get to my favorite cheap warung through a back way so I was able to get my dinner before heading back for a really early night. I woke up around 2:30 am to a storm that knocked out the electricity again which meant the fan went off, it got super hot and the mosquitoes gathered in the stillness. I slathered myself in repellant and opened the doors to the living room for a breeze before going back to sleep.

Tuesday I woke up early and had breakfast before driving out to surf at Canggu. It was crowded as always and I shared my first wave with four other surfers so I switched to the right peak. Had one really good wave and then the rest of the set waves got bigger but were really only good for drops and then closing out. I met a guy from Montana in the water named .... "Buck" who greeted me by saying I looked bored and I responded by saying he looked like the phantom of the opera (he did, it was the zinc mask). I also hit a German guy with my board when a set wave washed through and ripped it out of my hands so I got yelled at in German, which was...intimidating. I had a frustrating last hour of being out of position a lot and it took forever before I could catch one in at the end. I went back to the hostel and spent the day organzing myself, eating a lot and saying goodbye to everyone else who were all headed to other places, except for the new girl who had arrived while I was sleeping and was about to be left on her own there. I went to use the internet to update my blog but they were having connection problems so I just bought myself the notebook I had wanted to have all trip and put on Tangled on the TV while writing in my new journal. Then I picked up my laundry, finished packing and drove to Balangan.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb