Hampi, Bangalore abd the Bollywood movie


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
November 20th 2015
Published: November 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The sleeper bus to Hampi was quite interesting. Me and Sabrina got this tiny pod which was as big as a twin bed and just high enough to sit up in. After our time in Goa we were both pretty tired, so we went to sleep almost straight away. Sabrina had a pretty good night, but I barely slept. Everytime we hit a speed bump or someone honked their horn, I woke up. And in Indian traffic, speed bumps and horns are quite popular. And by quite popular, I mean ever present.

We got to Hampi around 6:00 and walked to the "ferry", which were just two small motor boats. On our way there we bought some bananas and check out some ruins and a temple. We got to the ferry port around 6:30 and someone told us the first ferry would leave at 7:00. So that was perfect. We sat around, ate our bananas and watched the Indians and their morning routines. There were whole families bathing in the river, while being fully clothed. After bathing they changed into dry clothes and the moms washed the wet ones, while the grandmothers braided the girls' hair. Watching this all was a pretty great way to pass time.

At seven one of the boats was ready to move, but for some reason the guy steering it only took a couple of people across at a time and told everyone else to get off. He did this a couple of times and even the locals didn't seem to understand why. So we just accepted that we had to wait a bit longer, which wasn't too bad. Cause after a little while someone showed up with an elephant! They walked down the stairs and the elephant laid down in the river, so his owner could wash it. At 8:00 some guys started preparing the second boat, which finally took us across to Hampi island.

We walked over to the guest house Sabrina had booked and luckily there was a bed available for me as well. Actually , it wasn't really a bed, it was a mattress on the rooftop with a mosquito net over it, which was really fun. :# After we had dropped off our bags we walked around a little and found a place that served masala dosai for 40 rupee #€0,60#.

The guys I met in Kochi had told me about a rock next to a lake, where everyone jumps off. So we asked around a bit and found out it was easiest to rent a scooter and drive over there. So that's what we did. On our way there we got stuck at an intersection, because there was a pack of goats moving through. There were some others there that were going to the rock as well, so we all cruised down together. We hung out there for a while, talking , swimming and jumping off from time to time.

After that we hung out at the guest house for a while. Here, we met a couple of English guys, one from Belgium and one from Goa. We all had some food and a couple of beers later the Goan guy pulled out a bottle of Old Munk rum. So we ended up going to bed way later than planned :p

Because we were sleeping in the open air, the sun woke me up at 6:30. So I got up and went to a yoga class. On my way there I saw some guys taking a shortcut through the rice fields, so I decided to follow them. It was a really nice route, that led me straight to the place where the class was. I got there quite early, so I spend some time playing with the puppies that live there 😊

The class was really nice and after that I found a place to have breakfast along the river. I had some chai en a mixed fruit porridge, which contained banana, pineapple and papaya! After that I walked back to the guesthouse. Most of the people staying there are climbers, cause there are a lot of boulders in and around Hampi. When I got back, most of them had also just returned from their morning climb. We played Frisbee and tried to do some slack lining. After a while I went and found another riverside restaurant for lunch and around five I walked back to the ferry. On the boat I met a guy that was on his way to the train station as well. So we hung out at this little chai stand for a while and then took the bus to Hospet. Here we found a place to eat before heading to the train station.

Once I was on the train, an elderly couple asked me if I wanted to switch beds. Cause I had a lower one and the woman wasn't able to get in her top bunk. I like the upper ones better anyway, so it all worked out fine. I fell asleep pretty quickly and woke up six hours later, when someone said we'd be in Bangalore in ten minutes. So I packed up real quickly. But off course these were Indian ten minutes, which ment we arrived at the station after thirty minutes.

Once I got off the train I found a rickshaw to take me to Riley's apartment. Riley is an American guy I met in Goa , that lives in Bangalore for a year. I got there at 7:00, so we decided to sleep a little more before going somewhere for breakfast with his housemates. After breakfast we went back to the apartment, where I did some laundry while Riley had to do some work. Then we had a quick lunch Didi, their maid, had made, before going to the cinema.

We didn't just go out to watch any movie though, we went to see a Bollywood movie! There were no subtitles, so half of the time we were kind of guessing what was going on. But it was great fun nevertheless. There was so much music and sometimes it was just simply hilarious because of how ridiculously unrealistic it was. After the movie we had a couple of beers and then took an uber back to the apartment. Here we had dinner and some friends of theirs came over to hang out for a little while. We went to bed quite early, cause we were still recovering from our time in Goa 😉

The next morning we had some tea on the balcony and after breakfast, Riley had to go to the office. I spend some time folding my laundry and packing my bag. After that Walter, one of Riley's housemates, took me to a brew cafe called Toits. Here, we tried two of the home brewed beers and shared some nachos and veggie sliders. From here we walked to a bus stop so I could catch a bus to the airport. When the bus was more than half an hour late, Walter ordered me an uber. And of course two seconds later the bus shows up, cause this is India 😉

The bus ride was a lot shorter than I had expected, so I got to the airport more then two hours prior to my flight. I check in my bag and walked around a little before going to the gate. Here I met an Indian guy from Jaipur that was on the same flight as me. I showed him the address I wanted to go to and he turned out to live in the same neighborhood. A friend was going to pick him up from the airport, so half an hour after landing I was already at my final destination: Roadhouse hostel Jaipur!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb