Adventure before Dementia - India 2012


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
February 25th 2012
Published: February 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

India 2012


So just 24 hours before I set off to Heathrow to fly to Delhi via Bahrain. As a true backpacker i am getting the overnight bus from Norwich. I will be in India for 7 weeks. 5 of those weeks I will be on my own (if its possible to be on my own in a country of 1.5 billion people)in Rajastan, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, I will then fly from Kolkata (Calcutta) to Kochi (Cochin) to meet my wife and have a further 2 weeks in Kerala with our friends Jan & Mike from Liverpool.

I have managed to get everything into a 40 litre backpack and have a daybag as well. I will try to keep my daily spending to £20.00 a day. This to include all travel hotels and food etc. £20.00 is about 1550 rupees a day (78 - 80 Rups in a pound). So far my most expensive hotel is £11.00 and my cheapest £4.50. You can zoom in on the map to see the route and please feel free to leave any comments.







I shall try to update the blog as much as possible during my travels - please excuse the spelling mistakes, bad grammar and anything else to do with writting. As I was only any good at woodwork at school.







Some things about India:





If you feel the need to go the toilet - Its possibly too late

If your rickshaw driver tells you that the hotel your going too has burnt down - tell him to take you there to see the ashes - as he just wants to take you to one were he will get some commission

English from Hindi Words: Doolally - (its enough to send you Doolally) Comes from the name of a transit camp for British soldiers in Deolali, in the Indian state of Maharashtra where the soldiers used to wait for ships to take them home from Bombay . They could wait some time hence "going Doolally"


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



27th February 2012

Travels in india.
Well paul all the best wishes on your travels around India,if Gandhi could do it you can do it ha ha . Richie.
29th February 2012
All I am taking

How. Would u get that bed in the bag have a great trip ur looking good love u Anne xx
12th March 2012

Adventure before Dementia
Hi Paul, been talking to Kate about your trip. Sounds awesome! Good luck and hope you're not too warn out by the time Kate gets there. Enjoy!

Tot: 0.421s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb