Memories of the Taj Mahal


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
September 3rd 2011
Published: September 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Memories of the Taj Mahal

As you can see from my profile picture I visited the Taj Mahal with my husband. It was part of The Golden Triangle Tour which we did while we stayed in Candolim and I will post later. The first visit was at night to see the sun go down which was a sight to see as we stood on the other side of the river. We had a wonderful view of the whole building and it is some size.
The best was yet to come we arrived at 6am in the morning to see the sunrise, and beat the crowds, you just had to be there, the sight of the sun coming up over the Taj was brilliant. To see this shrine, because that is what it is, you go through a huge gate and it is there in front of you in all its magnificence. I stood there and thought what is all the fuss about its just another marble monument inlayed with precious stones and carvings and then it hits you. Call it what you will but there was this aura a feeling about the place, its something that you cannot describe that makes it breathtaking. We toured the shrine and the gardens and had the usual photos take on what has become known as Diana‘s Seat only I was not alone I had my wonderful husband with me to make it a day to remember.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



3rd September 2011

Great pictures
Well doen Maureen. Great pictures and your fascination with the place shines through with every word.
3rd September 2011

Taj
Thanks for the comments you had to see it to believe it
27th September 2011

Taj
Looking at these pictures reminded me of my first visit to India. They brought back lovely memories. however my abiding memory of india will be the Golden Temple at Amritsar.
27th September 2011

Taj
I have only seen pictures of this but its on the must see list

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb