My Feet


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
August 2nd 2010
Published: August 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

As many of you know I always seem to be injuring my feet. Its probably because I'm so tall, I'm conditioned to "watch your head" as I duck through doorways but neglect what my feet are bumping into. Without further ado, here is the latest rundown of my feet.

a) 4th of July a friend and I were double riding a bicycle and crashed leaving my feet mangled and bleeding We were leaving July 7th and I was a little concered about fresh wounds and a developing country like India.

b) Just flying there my feet became very swollen from sitting in one place for so long.

c) Arriving in India a local man stopped by the house to say hello. He didn't speak English but wanted to take a picture with me. During the picture he noticed my swollen, cut up feet. He promptly grabbed some herbs growing off the side of the driveway, rubbed them in his hands and produced some magical oil which he spread amongst my various cuts. Side note- my feet are quite ticklish so this entire experience was quite classic.

d) While in Jaipur, we stopped at a store to buy some items. Walking around a corner in the store, we come upon.......yep you guessed it a monkey. In parts of India, the monkey is a sign of good luck and they would never chase him away. Right away the monkey calmly walked past the other 10 people around and sat right next to my feet. He just sat there like any other normal pet. About 30 minutes later i'm sitting down on a bench and the monkey comes walking over across the room to see me again. This time he puts his head down to my foot and give it a lick. I'm totally nervous but don't want the monkey to sense my energy and really start freaking out. So I calmly wait and pray for him to finish. And yes after the one lick he was fine. First I asked a man working at the store "is this a pet monkey" and he says no it's wild, just walked in today. Thankfully my wounds had mostly healed over so there was no open flesh but still I was a little freaked out of getting rabies.

Now back home I"m happy to report the feet seem fine and no rabies!

Advertisement



2nd August 2010

Really Cool!!
Thanks for sharing this, what an awesome trip! Looks like you guys had a great time!

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb