Allahabad to Ujjain


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
April 18th 2010
Published: April 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The following morning, I realized that the train was running late again. I checkout of the hotel appropriately and upon arrival at the station, the train was delayed by another hour. Finally, it arrived at 9:30am instead of 7:50 am. The worst is yet to come! I boarded the train and found out that the engine was not functioning well. And the delay continues…..it was 12:10pm before the train took off from Allahabad. That’s a delay of 4 hours. At this point, I started to hate Indian Railways. Over all those years of travelling in the south, I had never experienced such a miserable experience with delays. Thank God, I had adequate time so that my schedule is intact so far. However, I have another 7 temples to visit and 7 more train journeys!!!

My sops with the railways continued with a 5 hour delay by the time I reached Ujjain. Reached at 5:30 am instead of midnight and checked into Yatri Nivas, a unit of MPTDC. This did not matter since I had adequate time to visit temples in Ujjain & Omkareswar. However, the journey was once again painful, the train travelled through the middle of no where without food and water. I managed to get a packet of cookies at 2:00am. I don’t recommend Shipra express. This too sucks!


Advertisement



19th April 2010

I really enjoyed reading your India post! I haven't made it there yet, but can't wait to! My blog is looking for travel photos to share. If you have the time, email us at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com, or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com. Continued safe travels! Heather
19th April 2010

Ironic that the slow train is called "Shipra express" Following your blog as often as you post... Keep safe

Tot: 0.442s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb