Kolkata (Calcutta) - Fire on Park Street


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
March 23rd 2010
Published: March 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

There's a fire blazing on Park Street, Kolkata, 3 blocks from my hotel. 6 have died, and many have been injured, but even more are thought to be trapped inside of the hotel where the fire began.

I should be cautious about stating the number of deaths and injuries. It's the figure being spoken on the news.

I walked in the opposite direction when I first saw the fire, this afternoon at 2 pm. I thought it a bit ghoulish to be a spectator and decided to follow advice about avoiding large crowds when traveling. Back in my hotel an hour later, I saw live coverage of it, and went down to take some photographs.

The fire doesn't seem to be spreading, and is diminishing, but it has destroyed three floors of the hotel (not sure which hotel, above Flurey's). A lot of people are standing around and taking photographs and chatting about it; as an event of curiousity, more or less. There isn't an atmosphere of danger in the crowd surrounding the fire, though there is a slight tension.

I didn't want to hang about too long, so I took some photographs and spoke to some
Outside of my hotel, when the fire beganOutside of my hotel, when the fire beganOutside of my hotel, when the fire began

The fire when it began, about 2 pm. I walked opposite direction, didn't go to investigate (thought it a bit ghoulish and against travel advice to avoid large crowds).
locals then left. I dearly hope that there will be as few deaths and casualties as possible. It's bizarre to think about the fire starting in such a busy place. I walked past it at midday on my way to lunch; suddenly the area has been transformed into smoke and char.

I've fallen behind in my blogging (finding internet cafes which accept laptop connections has proven tricky in Kolkata).




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



24th March 2010

everything is left to chance
it,s not only fire in calcutta but unfortunately almost most of the things in our country is left to chance rather choice, because all of us possibly do not do our jobs well hence things are hay wire everywhere, only thing we know well is to how to blame some one and criticize others.it is high time we should have introspection combined with stringent penal action to defaulters so that possibly we may see some light ahead.
24th March 2010

Dranil, thanks for your comment. As a visitor I felt the need to be cautious about what judgements I made over how the fire was handled. It does appear to be the consensus that the Fire Department handled it very badly. They were one or two blocks away from the actual fire, but took two hours to arrive! Even then, it was three firemen, and only one of whom had water. But India is very beautiful. Hopefully such things can be improved. Cheers! Nick

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb