And so it begins......


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
June 1st 2008
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

In late January of 2008, I felt that I should visit Tibet. And Nepal. And throw in India too. Why not, I was going to be in the area.
So the research starts. The requisite readings of Lonely Planet. And a gazillion other pieces of material on where to go, what to see, what to eat, what not to eat, where to stay, etc. It was coming along swimmingly. Too good, in fact.
In March there were political problems in Tibet. Of course, this was right after I had made contact with a tour agency to get me to Lhasa. Apparently, one cannot just 'go' to Lhasa from Kathmandu. You need to be sponsored by a Chinese government-approved tour agency. This was all arranged. Then the protests in Tibet forced things to a stop.
I spent the next couple of months figuring out what to see in India. It's a large country after all. I settled on Rajasthan. Delhi, Agra and the Taj Mahal, Jaipur, Jaisalmer. Lovely.
So far I have made contact with a couple people to be my driver while I am there. The rates are all comparable as are the services. I also have to decide on hotels or B&B's. This will not be a back-packing trip. I aim to have clean, cool places to sleep and delicious, safe food.

There is also the not-so-minor matter of getting there. Oil prices are up, airline prices are up. I need to get from Newfoundland to Delhi to Kathmandu and Lhasa. I also need to return. So, the search for decent air tickets begins. Should I buy now? Or wait until later in the summer? Maybe the prices will fall in September....or might they double?




Advertisement



Tot: 0.461s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb