In Bengali platforms


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Siliguri
January 23rd 2006
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The train didn't arrive in Siliguri until about 12:30PM. Since the RG contained no map of the place, I picked a hotel randomly then got a cycle rickshaw to it. The Hotel Chancellor is in a busy part of town, looks grim from the outside, but is clean on the inside. It's bucket hot water only, which wasn't mentioned in the RG listing, but I've done it before and will no doubt do it again.

On the hotel's recommendation, I went to a Chinese restaurant nearby called Tai Wah, and had the best meat dish I've had yet in India - though it was Chinese so maybe it doesn't count. After, I tried to track down a decent disposable razor with lubrastrip, but that technology seems to be restricted purely to non-disposables, so I was forced to go for a mere 3-blader with no lubrastrip. After prompting the reception a couple of times for a bucket of hot water, I had my most enjoyable shave of the trip. Note to self - don't wait 2 months before you change your razor again.

I would have thought there must be many foreigners who stop over in Siliguri for a night before heading to/from Darjeeling, but I didn't see any, and was stared at often enough to make me think not.

It looks as though the Toy Train to Darjeeling is wait-listed tomorrow, so I think I'll just have to turn up early and hope for the best.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb