It's in the songs


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Nadia
March 4th 2010
Published: March 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

"Almost all the songs of Srila Narottam das Thakur give the gist of the scriptures and for the conditioned soul, everything has been given through his songs. Not only Srila Narottam das Thakur but Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakur also.
And what Bhaktivinoda Thakur has given is more practical for us. We have no capacity to express our heart but they have that capacity and they have explained everything about our position.
Their expression is very appropriate for our heart and when we are hearing their poetry we feel, 'It is my own languages coming through that poet.'
Srila Narottam das Thakur expressed his heart but it is for the benefit of everyone."
-Srila Bhakti Sundar Govinda Maharaja-

here is the translation only of the song Avatara Sara by Srila Lochan das Thakur.

1: The incarnation of Sri Gaura is the most excellent of all incarnations. Why haven't I worshipped Him? It is as if I was surrounded by water but denied myself a drink, returning to my own fruitive activity.

2: I chewed the thorns of the tree of worldly life and considered the blood that flowed through my mouth to be nectar. When offered the fruits of the wish-fulfilling tree of ecstatic love of Lord Gauranga, I rejected them, thinking them to be poison.

3: desirous of smelling a sweet scent, I sniffed at what I thought to be a fragrant flower. Alas, that flower was odourless like the palasha flower and instead an insect flew up my nose and bit me. Thinking material life to be sweet like sugarcane, I tried to taste its nectar. Instead, it was like chewing dry wood. In this way all my attempts at enjoyment were false.

4: Admitting defeat, wasted and worn out, I await the snake of death. Declaring it to be cool and soothing, I have embracedthe fire of material life, only to suffer intense misery, as if struck by lightning.

5: Worshipping my family and my material life, I forgot Lord Gauranga and didn't listen to the instructions of the saints. Now in my final days, I realise I have died twice, for not only am I leaving this mortal body, but I am also dead while living, having wasted my life in material indulgence.



the songs of the vaishnava saints are so important for those in the path of devotion. however, i urge everyone to consider these conceptions.


affectionately,

prem narayana das

Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb