Kolkata's Chinatown


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
August 16th 2010
Published: August 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Kolkata used to have a massive Chinese presence. More than 20,000 immigrants, mostly from the Hakka areas of southern China, lived and worked in Kolkata. They were businessmen, tanners, and restaurant owners. Most were British passport holders, and have left after Independence.

However, about 10% remain. They speak Bengali, English, and some Hakka. They have made great contributions to the culinary diversity of Kolkata. Many street stalls serve "Hakka chow" noodles.

I decided to take a walk to a Chinese temple near the center of the city. My friend (of Chinese descent) pointed me int he right direction. After some queries, I found it.

There were three Chinese men sitting and smoking under framed pictures of Sun Yat Sen and Ganhdi. They were very happy to show a visitor around. Upstairs, there were the standard statues of Chinese deities, draped in garlands of rupees! Also, a drum machine and some free tea. I told them when I start my tours for Chinese visitors to India, I will bring them to this temple. I just have to learn Chinese and Hindi......

On the way back, I saw a large red Church. Except it wasn't a Church- it is an old Synagogue! The religious diversity of Kolkata is amazing- I have visited some Hindu temples, a few Churches, a Mosque, three Jain temples, a Chinese temple...... now I just have to visit a holy place for Sikhs....

Advertisement



15th May 2012

Chinese Temples of Calcutta
Nice read, sharing my blog entry on Chinese Temples of Calcutta. http://rangandatta.wordpress.com/2011/11/10/chinese-temples-of-tiretta-bazar/

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb