Calcutta Twilight Zone


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
August 13th 2008
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Park Lane Cemetery caretakers  Park Lane Cemetery caretakers  Park Lane Cemetery caretakers

These two were totally charming and were exactly like the old men in the balcony on The Muppet Show - one was deaf, the other missing most of his teeth - they were like an old married couple and had me in stiches. Well, except when they were warning me about every scam and horror story in Calcutta! I loved them - just wish they lived in London, so I could take them out for tea every week.
( 20 photos)
So...Calcutta. Don't know where to start. It's like nowhere I've ever seen in India, totally unique. That's the good part. Arrived after midnight and it seemed half the population were out on the streets - sleeping on sacks of vegetables, loading trucks in the middle of the road, walking around, drinking tea, chatting - ....the city that never sleeps....or is that New York? It's so chaotic, it's actually indescribable.
A small illustration of my limited Calcutta experience so far - it says nothing about Calcutta, but on the other hand, seems to say everything...
I walked around for almost 6 hours today, ended up filthy with monsoon rain and muck from the streets, so decided to treat myself to a coffee at Barista on Park Street (woman cannot live by chai alone, and all that). Clean, normal, no surprises....that's what I wanted.
Get a sandwich and a coffee. Sit down and see a very happy dog with a bouncy tail walking left, past the plate glass window. I'm eating my sandwich and batting away a couple of flies who want a bite. Suddenly, I notice a very large cockroach sliding along the wall, trying to be incognito,
South Park Street detail 1South Park Street detail 1South Park Street detail 1

A cemetery seems the best possible place to try out the sepia function on my camera.....
like an assassin. I stamp my foot, hoping to chase it away, but instead it runs towards me like it has been catapulted from a yard away.
I jump up, and back away from the table. I try to catch the manager's eye, but he's busy attempting to stop a customer from walking out. I stare at the happy dog walking past the window, now going right.
Suddenly, I realise there's a mighty rucus going on in the upstairs seating area, between a crowd of Indian girls. They are screaming viciously at each other, but my cockroach trauma had obviously deafened me to a minor matter like a few women killing each other.
The man who is walking out is arguing too now, saying he didn't come in for a quiet coffee, just to be surrounded by screaming harridans, or something like that. I'm still standing behind the manager and considering getting some attention by hitting him over the head with my saucer, because I can see that cockroach knows fear when he smells it and oblivious to everyone else, it's now scuttling round me in ever-decreasing circles.
Upstairs, the screaming is continuing, the manager is shouting to be heard
DetailDetailDetail

I came here to look for a particular grave - James Achilles Kirkpatrick - but he isn't buried here after all. The two old men gave me an address where I might find a memorial, but said that hundreds of people come every year to ask for the grave...
over the girls and the walking out man is screeching over everyone. I, on the other hand, am mute with fear.
It's the biggest cockroach I've ever seen and that includes the two mammoths I once found in my room in Athens. I look at my now cooling grilled sandwich, and then at the window. The happy dog with the bouncy tail is walking past, going left.
Finally, the assistant realises what is wrong with this woman standing in a corner whimpering and makes a very half-hearted attempt to stamp on the coackroach, but it's obvious he doesn't want to have to deal with the messy aftermath that will be stuck to his shoe and he misses everytime.
The manager is now pleading with the man not to leave. 'But what can I do Sir, the girls are fighting..." he says and throws up his hands. I realise he is afraid of the girls upstairs. Downstairs I am afraid of the cockroach. We are all afraid, except for the cockroach and the walking out man, and he's just angry.
Finally, the walking out man walks out and takes his girlfriend with him. I watch the cockroach hugging the wall right next to my chair. It's waiting. The screaming upstairs quietens down. The cockroach strolls - taking his time now - over to the counter area.
I return to my table to find both flies are devouring my cold sandwhich. I decide to finish my coffee and sit down. A minute later, I see the cockroach has taken up residence next to my shoe, slowly moving in for a tactial terror move - something clever, like running over my foot when I'm not looking.
He's invincible now and he knows it- he can see I'm a wimp and no-one else is going to stop him. I balance my feet on the central pedestal of the table, about a foot off the floor, sip my cold coffee and wait for the next move. Outside, the happy dog jaunts past, going right, a small part of my Calcutta twilight zone...




























Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Lazy dogLazy dog
Lazy dog

This one was too grand to bother posing for the paparazzi!
Workers in the cemeteryWorkers in the cemetery
Workers in the cemetery

...cutting grass
Detail 2 with dogDetail 2 with dog
Detail 2 with dog

He was actually posing and stood very still until I took the picture. I know this is a famous landmark, but celebrity dogs???
Fleury'sFleury's
Fleury's

Fleury's saved me from drowning - Now I know why Calcutta is a daft place to come during the monsoon! Sheltered here during a thunderous downpour....
FleuryFleury
Fleury

I sat near the door, hoping to watch kaleidescopic fragments of Calcutta walk by on the other side of the frosted art deco doors...However, as ever in Calcutta, if you are stupid enough to sit in front of a glass door...30 people will come and mime hunger at you through the frosted glass...guiltguiltguilt, even if you have emptied your pockets....
A little bit of rain...A little bit of rain...
A little bit of rain...

This was my ( very restricted) view through the door of the internet cafe....
Same street, 20 mins later....Same street, 20 mins later....
Same street, 20 mins later....

Marooned on the street...so in the end, had to get someone to pull me to the end of the road ( I got marooned there too, standing on a piece of brick, a tiny island, surrounded by the murky green floodwater... not easy making decisions between having someone do that for you, balanced with the fact that the money is probably really needed, especially as most of the rickshaws are rented, not owned....
The CityThe City
The City

This city is filled with once-beautiful, decaying buildings - I could take scores of photos every few minutes, but don't. Partly, it doesn't feel safe getting out a camera - especially around Sudder Street, where my hotel is....
Driver's siesta timeDriver's siesta time
Driver's siesta time

especially as there is virtually no-one on the streets - unlike Jaipur, Delhi or Shimla, 75% oF the people in Calcutta seem to have disappeared off the streets on Independence Day. However, there are tons of police around
Down by the riverDown by the river
Down by the river

This is the second bridge
Celebrating Independence DayCelebrating Independence Day
Celebrating Independence Day

Its a national holiday and the Maiden ( a huge park) is filled with strolling families and carriages and horses....


7th September 2008

Excellent Post!
Hi! Great post...though we have much more to show you of the city on our walks. Have a look at the website www.calcuttawalks.com and let me know what you think. Warm regards.
29th May 2010
Fleury

gorgotten glory
is this park street Fleury?......................... nice one...........
31st May 2010

Calcutta
Hi, yes I think it was - but the story took place in some anonymous cafe - I should have taken the name, if only so I could avoid it in future! Thanks for getting in touch Zena
16th November 2010

Very beautiful pictures
Sepia or not - your calcutta pictures capture the essence of the city. I was in Calcutta after 20 years. Here is my pictures. http://tildekarthik.blogspot.com/2010/11/calcutta-stuck-in-past-but-still-so.html
18th March 2011
Detail

Kirkpatrick's memorial
Hi, Zena, nice collection of photos. The photos are of the South Park Street Cemetery, not park lane cemetery. Kirkpatrick was buried in North Park Street Cemetery, which no longer exists. Kirkpatrick has a memorial at the St John's Church in Calcutta. Here is a photo of the memorial: http://www.rangan-datta.info/photo/viewpic.php?gallery=41&id=200

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 88; dbt: 0.1093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb