Darjeeling aka Gorkha Land


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
May 1st 2014
Published: May 3rd 2020
Edit Blog Post

Gorkha is what mainland Indians refer to Nepalese born in India. Darjeeling was part of Nepal, until it was offered as a sign of peace to the British. Whom in turn, gave it to the Indian government. Majority of Nepalese born Indian lives in and near Darjeeling. Thus, it is called Gorkha Land. Darjeeling is known for its cool temperature, mountainous terrain and tea.







Tea plantation.



Most come for here tea, but stay for company. The British brought tea to this region. The train tracks left behind were once used to transport tea. It is the second highest train in the world. The altitude and temperature of Darjeeling contributed to the characteristics that is Darjeeling tea. I am no tea expert, I prefer my tea concentrated and bitter. However, mild black tea with milk and some spices is growing on me.



Aludum Soup:

A simple tomato based soup with potato.


"Arrived in Darjeeling yesterday...What a long ride from Kathmandu it was. I took the overnight bus to Kakarvitta, then a jeep ride from there to Siliguri and then another from Siliguri to Darjeeling. Crossing the border was simple. Siliguri was noisy, hot and crowded. I met Prig on the jeep ride to Darjeeling. He invited me to his house for lunch and I ended up staying the night. He and his family are musicians and are highly intelligent. They are also very kind and hospitable. I still felt a little uncomfortable, but its good for me to step out of my comfort zone. Darjeeling is nice. It reminds me of Nepal. A lot of people here are Nepalese. There is some political unrest here and water is scarce. Although, it is a great opportunity to be invited to stay at a local's house, I can't help but feel paranoid of ulterior motives...So, I told them I'm from Vietnam instead of America. Its always good to be cautious, I guess. I eventually told them the truth...If a family invites you into there home, its best to tell them the truth.
What is considered good or bad, efficient or inefficient in America doesn't necessarily apply to the rest of the world. For example, Amway and Nutrilite are considered pyramid schemes in the U.S., but are profitable opportunities in a country such as India. It has been an eye opening experience to be apart of. I am amazed at the ignorances my mind has accumulated throughout years."
Journal Entry: 05.01.2014


Additional photos below
Photos: 65, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb