I Made It to India!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Rishikesh
April 3rd 2015
Published: April 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I made it to Parmarth Niketan last night around 8pm. I made it just in time to get checked in and have dinner. I had to take my shoes off and leave them outside of reception, put on some communal flip flops to go to the restroom to wash my hands, and then got in line for dinner. Dinner (rice with yellow sauce, naan, and cooked squash/peppers) was taken in silence and eaten sitting on the floor. I did at least get a spoon to eat with 😊

After dinner, I was taken to my room across the ashram. It is on the quiet side of the ashram, right under the yoga hall. It's simple, but clean. I unpacked my things, made friends with a huge spider, and debated whether or not the toilet paper would actually make it down the toilet. I still haven't attempted to take a shower, as I'm not really sure how to work the water heater. I'll Get there eventually. I finally went to bed around midnight, but was woken up by a loud thunderstorm. It rained all night, which was actually pretty pleasant to listen to.

This morning I skipped breakfast and decided to sleep in instead. Around 10am, the receptionist came by to let me know my roommate would be arriving soon. Her name is Natalia and she is from St. Petersburg, Russia. She seems nice so far. We're about to go out for lunch and to buy white yoga clothes.

Advertisement



3rd April 2015

So glad to hear you made it safely. Sounds like it's going to be a totally new but awesome experience for you. Can't wait to read all about it.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb