Sad incident in Rishikesh


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Rishikesh
April 4th 2008
Published: April 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all. It's been a few weeks since you've received any blogs of my travels. It's b/c I've been stationary for nearly a month in rishikesh. What a beautiful city! 1 of the 4 holy cities of Indian pilgrimages. anyhow, I've been running around hiking up to small villages, waterfalls, swimming in the ganges, meditating, reading, etc. It's been absolutely perfect & divine.

But sadly to say, there was a young Turkish boy that checked out of the ashram the day before. And later that day, he was taken by mother Gange....pulled under the current & never came up. A neighbor witnessed it, but too late to do anything. All of his supposed friends refused to go w/farid (my extremely handsome iranian neighbor) to the police station b/c they wanted to have dinner. =( He is still in shock & angry w/that day's events & people's reactions. As rishikesh is a holy destination, there was no awareness nor love for this baby boy that died....

a big lesson - life is precious. one doesn't know when it'll be gone just like that. I literally saw him, smiled & said good-bye to him @ noon. And the next morning, Farid told me the news. Be aware! Live life with your eyes open & be conscious of all the beauty & life around you! Life is an amazing gift. I feel it moment by moment...Yesterday, I experienced a storm at the foothills of the Himalayas! I saw it as god's wrath or praise of the life taken by mother gange. Nonetheless - it was a beautiful storm that I have been yearning for.

A good book to read: Eckard tolle's A New Earth. Many of you will relate to it...eye opening & just refreshing.

You are all in my heart. Love yourself & love all!
xo

Advertisement



16th April 2008

Oh so sad!!
I can only imagine how Farid must feel. Much love to you Jen and pass on a hearty hug to your friend. xoxox

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb