Dhanaulti - the White Paradise


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Dhanaulti
January 31st 2017
Published: February 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

It was 6:00 in the morning when my alarm rang that day. I was in my bed, completely merged in the soft and hot blanket provided by the hotel boy of Monarc Hotel in Mussoorie. I checked my phone and it was showing a temperature of 4 degree Celsius, with a prediction of heavy snowfall. OMG!! Snowfall? Prediction? I mean seriously? That also in Mussoorie, which has a height of barely 2006 m? I rubbed my eyes once again and rushed towards my hotel balcony to witness the actual outside scenario. And my hope sank. It was still dark outside with no hint of either sun or snowfall. I could barely see a distance of 2 /3 m with my naked eyes. It was FOGGY!! And it was damn COLD!! My heart was broken. I looked upon my lonely tripod standing in the room corner and remembered those unlikely dreams of capturing sunrise pics from this Queen of Himalaya. My dreams shattered at once, had only that day left in Mussoorie. And I also realized that it was impossible to stand outside in that weather for more than 5 mins. With broken heart and sleepy eyes, I came back into my room and at that very moment, the name sparked in my mind. Couldn't remember the reference but someplace else i have read about the mesmerizing beauty of snow covered Dhanaulti in Uttarakhand, which is situated at a height of 2286 m in Garwahal himalaya range in Uttarakhand and at a distance of barely 30 km from Mussoorie. Without wasting a second, I decided my next destination and it was 7:15 in the morning, when i left my hotel room in hope of witnessing the beauty of fresh snowfall in this great Himalayan range. It was a complete hunch full of uncertainty and I was not at all sure of getting a cab in this weather, who can take me to Dhanaulti along with all kind of risks and dangers. Still, I was hopeful and without wasting further time, I started to look out for a hired cab.

It was 10 min past 8:00 am , when my luck favored me for the first time on that day. I got a cab. I gave the proposal to the driver. And he acknowledged it with pleasure along with a handsome amount of money!! Then I started my journey at once. It was still raining. It was still damn cold. But the only thing that changed was stopping of the cool breeze.I checked my mobile and it was showing a temp of 2 degree Celsius. Still suitable for a snowfall. I noticed that the driver ji has already put on his heavy woolen clothes and has turned on the heater inside the car. Now, one has to cover a distance of around 30 km and has to level up a steep rise of almost 280 m to reach Dhanaulti from Mussoorie. And depending on the road condition, the journey takes around 1 hour and 30 mins. After travelling for almost half and hour, we stopped for breakfast at a roadside joint. I ordered hot aloo-paratha and tea without any hesitation and swallowed them at once after serving.

I still remembered that very moment , when i realized that my dream is going to be fulfilled very soon. When i was coming out of that restaurant after bill payment, i suddenly noticed two cars coming down from Dhanaulti and their rooves were covered with a white blanket of SNOW!! My eyes were awe-strucked!! My heart began to pump fast in excitement!! I rushed inside my car and commended driver ji to start our journey at once to Dhanaulti. Engine roared and we started. 10 mins past, and white snow flakes started to fell from sky. Snow flakes everywhere!! Coming down from sky like a bliss, like a symbol of purity along with a sheer joy of happiness. I stopped my car. Opened the door. Rushed towards outside. Yelled in joy to the fullest. My dreams were drenched.. Drenched in sweet touch of snowflakes in this virgin part of Garhwal Himalaya 😊

Advertisement



2nd February 2017

An enjoyable read
Beautiful memoir! :) Your writing flows smoothly and it takes readers on a charming trip. Waiting for further installments with bated breath!
2nd February 2017

Gracius!!
Thanks for your valuable comments @Supratim :)

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb