Day 35 - Move to Varanasi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
August 23rd 2015
Published: August 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 35 - Move to Varanasi

There are not many photos today as it has been a big travelling day!

Last night at about 10.30pm, we got on the night train to Varanasi. I got on, and straight into sleep mode. Anna, Anu and I are in one carriage, Lisa and Bernie are in the next carriage.

I have had a long sleep this afternoon, and into early evening. I have been up and around for an hour or so. I'm doing ok. I feel like there is a slow improvement the more sleep I have. After being on my feet for a couple of hours, I am so ready for the bed again!

Anu had helped me by carrying my bag, which has been a great help. Quite honestly, I'm not sure I could have done it! I am still a bit wobbly!

We got on the train as planned at 10.30, expecting to arrive at Varanasi at about lunchtime. It is now 3pm, and we are still not there. Anu told us that we are running about 5 hrs late. The problem is that it is a circular line, and two trains can't pass each other, so one train had to wait off the line whilst the other one passes. It is this that has added to the ive hours. This is not unusual for trains in India!

I have slept most of the time, which can only be a good thing for me. I am still feeling the improvement, every time I wake up! So quite honestly, I certainly can't complain! I got my iPad out for Anna, so she can watch a film. Anything helps after this length of time!

I have had another nap! Anna had watched another film! This is the longest train journey ever! Just to remind you it was supposed to be about twelve hours, it has now been eighteen hours, and we are not there yet!

Lisa and Bernie have now joined us in our car, so I am thinking that is because we are getting near! I daren't hope!

Anu has just said to us that there has been a problem with the train. It could have been a head on collision. One of the drivers had seen that the driver of our train had missed the red stop light, he had fallen asleep! It could have been a right issue! Luckily, the oncoming train was stopped. Apparently two men have been suspended, we could have been dead, so much better late than never!

We are able to walk over the road to the hotel, and a nice one it is too. We have a much needed coffee, then go off to our rooms.

Aw,... A comfy bed! Yes! We have a huge, full wall size window. I can see right across to the train station, lots of tuk tuks, people, bikes, cars, rickshaws etc. it's so busy out there. I can right a across town too!

We are meeting Anu at 7pm to go to a Nepalese family restaurant for our evening meal. I haven't eaten for two or three days now, so am ready for it!

I would suggest that I am at about 80% recovered, so will be taking it easy. No alcohol. I think I will be better in the morning after a good nights sleep. It is all the sleep I have had that is helping me to recover! I can not afford to have any more accidents!

We meet at 7pm to go for our evening meal. We are going to El Parador. It is a family ran restaurant. I actually ate here the last time I was in Varanasi. I remember the mint tea, not the food, which is weird!

Whilst waiting for the food, everyone is recounting over the drunken evening. I feel missed a really good night! Anu is trying to explain some of the funny comments that he made when drinking! The girls are all laughing with him! It seems like they had such a good time! The girls are making Anu worried about the things he has said and done, but they are only playing with him! Lol

The meal was really good tonight. It's the first proper meal I have had for about three days. I was so hungry. We all enjoyed our food tonight. Good guidance Anu!

We return to our hotel. A pre bedtime drink for all. I stick to a lassi, I just need to look after myself for the next few days! So. With that in mind, I am continuing to be sensible.... I leave the group early, and go to bed.

I am looking forward to 100% recovery tomorrow... Hopefully!





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.317s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb