Banana pancakes overlooking the Ganges


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
May 30th 2013
Published: May 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I will most likely remember these banana pancakes, prepared like a thick, folded crepe with bananas and heaven tucked inside, as being the best food in India. I've had them twice now since I've been here and am currently waiting for a third try. Today is our last day in Varanasi, our last day together before elisa heads home and I head to Delhi to wait for my own jet plane to whisk me away. Elisa was an amazing travel partner and I will be forever grateful she asked me along as a sidekick on this little trip.No Nepal for me, so my trip will be a little shorter as I'm not up for the challenge at this point. Instead I will head home to work further on my studies and on myself as a person. It may be simplistic to say that the Indians seem so calm in the midst of this apparent nationwide chaos, it is, but that is the impression I get. I'd like to take some of that home with me in addition to the rad souvenirs I have.

Today we visited a large Hindu temple for the Hindu monkey god Hamunan, filled with monkeys (no cameras allowed) . Yaya!---monkeys are better to watch than tv. I love watching animals, so India has given me plenty to see, both domestic and feral. Anyways, after narrowly avoiding another monkey beat down we went riverside so I could dip my fingers in the Ganges. Legend says even a drop from the river is enough to wash away all your past sins, so there was absolutely no way I was leaving here without my drop. Elisa had some antiseptic cleaner ready when I returned as we've seen too many people pooping along the banks to take chances. Varanasi is an ancient city, but it is also not for those weak of stomach as there is plenty of poop of the human and animal kind around. I'm not quite sure why this city is like this, it's a weird combination; revering the waters of the Mother Ganges while at the same time polluting her to sickness. Just another contradiction.

I'm glad I came here. In twenty years India will be vastly different. You can see the younger generation choosing western dress, dating rules are changing (as i found out after an Indian told me at as I'm a student i should have at least 3-4 boyfriends, thats how it is on HBO and showtime, ya know?) and more opportunities for school and work. There is good energy here. Thanks or joining me on my trip, I will be in touch.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



1st June 2013

A rating????
You should be the food critic for India.....what is the food health inspection ratings for your pancake house :) Sounds like you are enjoying yourself. Pictures have been great this time, just need to get you to label your pics so we know what we are looking at or at least what you were thinking when you took the pictures. Thanks for allowing me to come along for the ride, see you when you get back.
3rd June 2013

I know....
It really all comes down to lazines! (See I didn't even want to write that extra s in that word, lazy over here!). I have a bunch of pics I can show you sometime!
6th June 2013

bananas
So glad you had a great time here. Look forward to conversations of the experiences and other pictures!!
6th June 2013

Sounds great!
Thanks so much for the comments during my trip, I really do appreciate them.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb