Varanasi/India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
July 2nd 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

HennaHennaHenna

It got a lot more difficult after the first 5 minutes
After 1 night back in Delhi, we flew to Varanasi, known as India's holiest city and home to the sacred Ganges river. We stayed at Hotel Surya, which was very nice and had a huge lawn for me to run around.

We woke up real early one morning to go on a small boat ride down the Ganges which was a lot of fun. We also went to nearby Saranath, which is where buddha gave his first speech (sermon) way before daddy was born. Ever since last years trip to vietnam, I have liked putting my hands together everytime I see a buddha statue/incense, or anything else that is related to buddhism.

It here that I became good friends with the cows, as they were everywhere. I loved them, while daddy was less fond as he constantly had to avoid stepping in cow kaka, which he was not 100% successful.

After seeing so many women with their hands painted, I wanted to have mine done. Daddy let me, but I think he later regretted it. I was great while the woman was putting it on, but the 1-2 hours of not being able to touch anything or close
Teaching the LocalsTeaching the LocalsTeaching the Locals

About the princesses in my coloring book during a ceremony at a Varanasi Ghat
my hands was the most difficult thing I have ever done, and very stressful for both me and dad. But I did it with not too many smears, which is not bad for a 3 year old.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Me and Daddy in a pool of silkMe and Daddy in a pool of silk
Me and Daddy in a pool of silk

I loved wearing the same shirt as daddy (from last years trip to Vietnam)
HennaHenna
Henna

Doing my best to stay still
Holy  CowHoly  Cow
Holy Cow

Cows in the street everywhere
What the Heck?What the Heck?
What the Heck?

Daddy says this is from a video game when he was a child


10th May 2011

Mendhi & bangles.
Did daddy also buy you some bangles? My daughter really wanted some and they were forced onto her wrists so that I couldn't ever take them off, she set off every airport security after that! (the Mendhi caused less fuss, she also loved it!

Tot: 0.395s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 27; qc: 120; dbt: 0.1959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb