I found the Barras Market


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Lucknow
November 10th 2011
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 26.862, 80.9359

Thankfully my hotel is just across from the train station so I manage to dodge the tuktuk's and just walk over to the hotel. I'm only staying here one night and I'm kind of glad as there isn't another tourist anywhere in sight!

I went out to explore, jumped in a rickshaw (after I agreed a price) for a tour round but it doesn't look a very nice place, really dirty and no sights to see. I did stumble on a huge local market though which reminded me of the Barras markets, I enjoyed watching them shouting out what I presume was prices and deals of the day.

I ate in a local dabba, but it was funny when I walked in everyones' eyes were on me, it felt a bit weird. I was fascinated with the young guy who was making the chapatti's, it was a constant rhythm of putting them onto the side of the tandoori oven and churning them out, the food here was really good.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb