Colin's Curry Caution Costs Me lbs!...and Monkey Shoulder


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
February 13th 2015
Published: February 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Skegness may be 'bracing' but Shimla in the Himalayas is breathtaking...and cold! You all know I prefer the heat (in real temperature and curries) but I wasn't ready for this. And nor were the Hotel Deepwoods, nestling serenely on a mountain backdrop staring at the snow capped Himalayas. Organised as ever I hadn't taken my Primark gloves out of my pockets before leaving...and I'm so glad. First night found me wearing said gloves and two pairs of socks in bed with four blankets. On the second night we ate dinner in the apartment. Colin had Chinese (of course), but when the young guy from the hotel saw me; trying to eat with 5 layers of clothes, coat, a blanket and Primark gloves, the rupee dropped! He didn't speak any English, always smiled and agreed, but never knew what we wanted. Now he understood, and within minutes two fan heaters with a combined output of my travel hairdryer (yes I really do have one) arrived!

Two serene, and, compared to Delhi, quiet days saw us exploring tiny markets, climbing the Jakhu Simla to the Shri temple in less than 30 minutes, which qualifies us as 'absolutely fit' for under 30 year olds (just saying) and visiting the summer seat of Colonial rule during the 1930's. Like Colin the Lieutenant Governor obviously didn't like the heat, or am I muddling up spicy food and prevailing weather conditions here? We also visited the local Pharmacy to buy Cod Liver Oil capsules for Colin (?) and the pharmacist spoke far better English than mine at home!



We did enjoy (...or Colin risked...) a curry on our first night in Shimla, in a restaurant which also nestled into the mountain side as the sun set over the snow caps. A fantastic meal I will never forget, but also the start of something costly to me. Fair to say Colin likes it mild...and he's cautious. And so far his 'religious' cleansing of cutlery, crockery, fruit, bottle tops, anything in a ten foot radius really, has kept us happy, healthy and regular, if you know what I mean. But he's also cautious. So we order. "Would sir like this dish mild?" asks the waiter, and Colin definitively answers in the affirmative. "How about you sir?" and I ask for it hot. "Are you sure sir?" YES YES YES !

When far too much food arrives I'm in masala heaven, with 660ml of Kingfisher on standby, just in case. Colin takes one mouthful and utters the now familiar sentence "I can't eat this". And so the circle continues, overly large portions, Colin taking one mouthful, and me, a food lover and a hater of anything wasteful (Jersey beans are only secondary to the Scottish) I...EAT...EVERYTHING.



So yes, its costing me lbs instead of GBP's. A good meal with drinks is normally less than 440 rupees for us both, just over £4. That's a darn cheap date night in my opinion. Finally the Monkey Shoulder though. Most of you know me well enough to identify this as one of my favourite triple malts, enjoyed on more than one occasion with the son-in-law. However this one really was on Colin's shoulder, determined to relieve him of his glasses. He succeeded, but we triumphed in victory as they were dropped in the escape. Should have gone to Specsavers I guess, but for one brief moment Colin was wearing an impressive looking rucksack. I need to be quicker with the camera.



Right now I'm being driven to Agra by our personal guide for the Taj Mahal at sunrise tomorrow. He's with us for four days, which has to be easier than the 448 km train journey from Amritsar to Delhi at 5am this morning. Oh, and its hot! The temperature and the lunchtime curry I just had at Motorway Masala. Life is good, and I'm certainly not ready to come home!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb