It's not the heat, it's the humidity


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
April 21st 2013
Published: April 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Taj Mahal at SunriseTaj Mahal at SunriseTaj Mahal at Sunrise

First reflecting pool and much jostling for key position
Whoever first uttered that nugget obviously never visited Bangkok in April. Sure, it's infernally humid but mix that with nearly 100 balmy degrees (F) and that has the makings of one hot city. I've been here a week and the last couple of days I've taken to staying in my air conditioned hotel room between roughly 11 am and 6 pm while catching up on the New England Patriots productive off season and the Celtics futility against the eminently beatable New York Knicks for which I was not about to wake up at 4:00 am local time to watch live on the internet. The rooftop pool is small comfort from the heat.

I haven't blogged since early December 2012 from Turkey. Since then I've been to Egypt for 2 weeks, Ethiopia for a month, Nairobi for a couple of days, and India for the most recent 3 months. Lost my motivation in Ethiopia which I did not like and India certainly did not help me regain the missing mojo. India is one of those places that almost everyone loves or hates. I was somewhere in the middle but most of it seemed kind of underwhelming and not worth the immense amount of hassle that comprises a significant portion of the quintessential India experience. However, Egypt was great, second revolution notwithstanding (no impact on tourists back then), and that blog entry is forthcoming. I hope someday to post more pictures from India but for now the amazing Taj Mahal will have to suffice even though pictures do not really do it justice.

Everything is fine aside from the barely tolerable heat which should slightly diminish as I work my way south to one or two sea-breezy Thai islands then Penang, Malaysia on the way to Sumatra, Indonesia. It is like dejá vu all over again as the itinerary is vaguely similar to my 2006 trip to Southeast Asia. Unlike 2006, I'm mildly shocked and chagrined that there are still hoards of tourists during what is purportedly the start of the low season. I was also in Bangkok in April of 2006 and I don't remember it being anywhere near this crowded. Or expensive...

Best to everyone.

Go Celtics!

Jon


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

Second reflecting pool
Taj MahalTaj Mahal
Taj Mahal

Getting warmer...
Taj Mahal at SunsetTaj Mahal at Sunset
Taj Mahal at Sunset

Outer wall to the right
You talkin' to me?You talkin' to me?
You talkin' to me?

Wild parakeets all around the Taj
Jeff Green Posterized by J.R. SmithJeff Green Posterized by J.R. Smith
Jeff Green Posterized by J.R. Smith

Game 1 action Boston Celtics @ NY Knicks yesterday afternoon. Good guys down 0-1. Purportedly very bad and turnover prone in the process.


21st April 2013

The photos of the Taj Mahal are so amazing that I can't imagine what it is like if they "don't do it justice." It is definately on my list of desinations. Don't make us wait so long for the next posting. We have been trying out some other options for Trivia the past few weeks but it's hard to replace the Norm's vibe. Take care.
21st April 2013

Thanks Steve!
21st April 2013

Indeed your point is proven
Once I was in Phoenix and it was 106 degrees and they kept saying...but its a dry heat...its not so bad. Ha, being in a oven is hot, hot, hot. You've taken some fantastic shots in the reflecting pool. We are enjoying your travels since we can't right now.
21st April 2013

My sister lives in Phoenix. When I visit and it's over 100°F I always say it's not that bad. On the other hand, Nashville where I went to college is on par with sweltering Bangkok...
22nd April 2013

Celtics show why they sorely miss Rondo in the playoffs. Go C's! Crazy week here in Boston. Taj Mahal looks to be a better place to be now. Amazing photos, Jon.
22nd April 2013

Celtics in 6!
Thanks, Jason! Celts win the next 3 in a row then game 6 back in Boston. If not, at least we have the Sox to distract us from the Celtics demise. Wait, did I just say that?
22nd April 2013

Jon, It's about time you blogged! Starting to worry about you, your travel reports have been missed. Great adventures. "He's lost his mojo."...well........, get the mojo back! Strange days when I'm pulling for the Celtics & Lakers (Steve Nash) too.
22nd April 2013

No longer MIA.....
Good to hear from you! I always look forward to hearing from you and catching up on your travels...
23rd April 2013

You're Funny!!
First of all, let me start off by saying that I, too, am a BIG New England sports fan. I especially like the Red Sox. Secondly, you're in for an even bigger surprise if you think it's gonna get cooler in Penang! We left Bangkok about five weeks ago (was it really that long ago?), stopping in Penang for two weeks, Melaka for two weeks and Borneo this last week. It has gotten progressively hotter and more humid with every move we make. Anyway, I hope I didn't offend you. Please feel free to check out our blog, especially this one: http://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Malaysia/Penang/George-Town/blog-778801.html - all about the Penang heat. I'm also going to follow you - we fellow New Englanders have to stick together, right? ;~) Nanci
24th April 2013

Pants
So, it's infernally hot & humid and yet you are sportin' the long pants? Harsh!!!
25th April 2013

Harsh and bitter
The picture sporting the pants was actually taken in India where is was very hot but not much humidity. Some places have weird restrictions on shorts, sandals, etc. so I didn't want to wear shorts, wait in line, then be told I had to have long pants. The pants have zip off legs anyway in case it got unbearably hot.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb