Adventure before Dementia India 2012


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
March 23rd 2012
Published: March 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

14.00 Hours Wednesday 21 March

I get back to the Falcon GH and have some lunch and pay my bill.

I have a bit of lunch and then it is off to get the bus to Agra. The bus stop is just round the corner on the same Jaipur Agra road I travelled the other morning.

I wait at the stop and try to find some shade as it is again a warm one. First bus is not for me and the second which is to Agra is full . Back into the shade. 20 Minutes and another bus comes, this time it’s to Agra and I am on.

I sit next to a lad called Michael from Frankfurt and no sooner then we had said hello when in the seats in front are 2 of the volunteers from Holi in Jodhpur.

We talk all the way to Agra. As we approach the traffic is appalling and it takes us 35 minutes to get round 1 corner.

One of the girls from Jodhpur has the name of a guesthouse in Agra that is supposed to be OK and has Taj views. We all decide to go there when we get off the bus and see if it’s ok.

The bus drops us at Agra Idgah some 6/7 k from Tajganj which is the area of the Taj and most of the touristy hotels.

Michael was super cool as we are surrounded by rick drivers, and sorts us two ricks to the Saniya Hotel. We arrive have a look at the rooms which are ok and we are in. The girls arrive shortly afterwards.

As I am going up to my room I meet at guy called Eggi also from Frankfurt who I was with for a short time in Bundi.

After a freshen up we all go to the rooftop restaurant and have a beer and a look at the view of the Taj and of course take a few photo’s.

Michaeland me decide to get up early and go to the Taj before the AC buses arrive. So we say goodbye to Eggi who is off to Delhi to fly home. Off to bed.

05.00 Hours Thursday 22 March

Up early to get to the Taj and join the queue for a ticket. We meet Keith from New Zealand and he is about every now and again. Into the Taj and everyone goes for the money shots, finger on the top of the Taj, the Diana seat Etc Etc.

The Taj is more impressive then I thought it would be and somehow has a feel. WE spend 3 hours wandering about but by 9ish it’s getting packed and we decide to go back and have breakfast.

After that it the Red Fort and then what is know as the Baby Taj across the river.

It’s now late afternoon and I have to leave tonight for Varanasi so back to the hotel to eat and get my ruck which is locked away in Michael’s room.

On the rooftop sitting having a beer and watching the light fade on the Taj we are joined by Angie from Airdrie a lawyer and she is a barrel of laughs. The next few hours pass quickly and soon it’s time to say goodbye and go off for my Train.


Additional photos below
Photos: 72, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb