Taj Mahal


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
April 10th 2008
Published: April 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We set off early on the train to Agra. A normal train this time - no bunks! I ended up next to an Indian business man who told me all about the trips he went on around India. Then he put an eye mask on, covered himself with what looked like a tea-towel and went to sleep. MP3 player is coming in very useful on this trip!

After settling into our hotel and some lunch we set off for the big highlight of the trip - a visit to the stunning Taj Mahal. We had to leave our bus and get into little electric buses (pollution free zone) with our guide. We went in from the east gate where you get just a little glimpse of the Taj Mahal's white dome before you get to the main entrance gate.

It is just so beautiful it takes your breath away. Me and Morven were all teary eyed as we sat just taking it all in. There were so many people there all taking loads of photos. I got my stint in the Princess Diana pose seat and I also got a great photo of an older, very majestic looking Indian lady in a lovely deep burgandy sari.

We had loads of free time to wander around as the sun began to set. The light was fantastic throwing amazing shadows on the building. I was asked by a few Indian families to have my photo taken with them. I think they are fascinated by my freakish freckles!

Wow what an amazing place.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Group photo at the Taj MahalGroup photo at the Taj Mahal
Group photo at the Taj Mahal

Tara, Sammy, Matt, Harriet and Charlotte with Manu at the back.


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb