Rollercoaster


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu
January 24th 2013
Published: January 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I feel like I am becoming a contradiction to rival this country. Now that the shield of newness has lost its original strength, I am on a roller coaster of emotion. When I am playing with the children, or teaching, or talking with the volunteers I feel elated. I laugh so much in my classes, at meals, and at odd times throughout the day. But then I will be overwhelmed by sadness. I have cried in classes hit by the horrors addressed in the literature of the day. Today, frustrated for a series of reasons, I cried when another volunteer simply ask me what I thought of the meeting. But then a few minutes later, I will be overwhelmed by the joy of the children, the beauty of the place, the kindness of people around me.

People must think me crazy.

I am not unused to crying or laughing more than other people are, but I feel less grounded. Being here has made me more acutely sensitive. Writing helps. So does reading. But before today, I hadn’t really talked to anyone about my frustrations. I am so glad the volunteer ask his question, though I am not sure he knew what he was in for.



Thankful for...

People to talk to

Laughter and tears

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb