An atempt to organize chaos


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Velankanni
May 5th 2006
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Harri's family and meHarri's family and meHarri's family and me

One of my first days in India, spent a few days in Pondy with Harri and his family before going south to Velankanni (harri I know from my first visit to India)

What's this?


After being urged to get some pictures out to the public I decided to find somewhere to host the pictures instead of uploading a few on an email. While I'm at it I think I will copy and paste my two group emails as well, maybe just maybe a third, and rather late, mail will be posted here as well. I'll have to see whether I can understand this thing or not first 😉

And who am I?


Um. If you dont know me and happen to drop by this blogg here is a short introduction: I'm a norwegian student doing research for my masters thesis in social anthropology at NTNU - Norway. My research locus is Velankanni - Nagapattinam - Tamil Nadu - India. My focus is the after effects of the tsunami, or rather how the local community is coping/dealing with the tsunami and what happened after it. I'm right now in my 4th month, out of a total of 6 1/2.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Majestic HotelMajestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel

This is the front side of the beachside restaurant where I spend a lot of time hanging around. Two of the workers stand proudly behind the ready-to-fry fish
Beach viewBeach view
Beach view

Beach view from Majestic, often packed with pilgrims and people earning their living from the pilgrims
Raja and me infront of Majestic HotelRaja and me infront of Majestic Hotel
Raja and me infront of Majestic Hotel

Raja and me infront of Majestic where Raja works.
YummyYummy
Yummy

The beautiful view from my room =)
Holy CowHoly Cow
Holy Cow

South India, march, mid day - HOT. Only a cow dares to stroll along the village road looking for some garbage to munch on...
Food and BeerFood and Beer
Food and Beer

A friendly get-together in my room, eating some mutton fry and drinkning some beer while listening to tamil pop songs =)
Food and Beer 2Food and Beer 2
Food and Beer 2

I'm there as well =)
KannanKannan
Kannan

Kannan - a fantastic guy working at the Majestic. Our verbal communication is rather limitied by my nearly non-existent tamil, and his nearly non-existent english. That doesn't stop us from having great fun tho!
RajaRaja
Raja

Raja - an other great guy at the Majestic
Longi heavenLongi heaven
Longi heaven

This is me putting on a longi - basicly a sheet sown together that men wear around their waist, preferably with nothing underneath. It is the only way to be dressed in the insane heat, and a very masculine garnment in India... This picture is actually taken in north India where I just had a short vacation, more pictures from that trip will be added later!


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb