Happy happy birthday to me!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Tiruvannamalai
June 27th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: One of many Aranuchala caves 30 secs
A bit belated, but nonetheless - happy bday to me! =)

I spent my birthday in Thiruvannamalai, walking the Arunachala mountain barefoot (wellllllll...half of the 4 miles of it) w/my buddy jorge from ecuador - it's called Giripradakshina (pronounced giri-productiona). It was good times. A bird pooped on his shirt (good omen) & a holy woman gave us darshan. =) Then I just spent the day hanging out...enjoying thiru, as I had arrived the day before.

Have been in Thiru (pronounced 'tiru') for the past week & a half- teaching/doing yoga, reading, meditating, cooking up healthy food, & hanging out w/my pals aaron & jorge. It's very quiet now in thiru as it's off season & only 'serious' ppl are here, absorbing energy from arunachala. Jorge & i went on a nice hike up the mountain & had a nice picnic in a cave that was once occupied by a holy woman (she was asked to leave b/c too many ppl came to seek her darshan, which involved her flinging the flowers you bring her BACK at you. Ha. I hope to see when i go back). But now the cave is set up for day visits or one can stay in it...pretty cool man. see video clip.

The energy in Thiru is phenomenal, as it's emanating Arunachala, as well from the places Ramana Maharshi meditated in, his ashram & the temples there. Ramana Maharshi is known as the 20th century buddha - having experienced a death experience @ the age of 16, he was beckoned by the mountain & came to the mountain by foot @ 17. He remained in a small room in samadhi for years...then he moved to a cave for 16 years. Quite an amazing story. I'm booked to stay @ the ashram for 3 days on July 5. It'll be nice. Here's a link if you're interested in learning more: www.omarunachala.com

I'm in Auroville right now, grabbing my bag from Lorenzo's place & re-stocking up on my peanut butter (yes - it's becoming a bit obsessive), croissants, bread & other yummy things! OH! It's official - I can ride a motorcycle! I've rented one for a few days. Yay for me! Had a small accident yesterday, as well as getting a burn from the pipe - but i'm A-OK (just 2 scratches & a bump to be exact). I'm staying w/my friend
Aranuchala!Aranuchala!Aranuchala!

Shiva's mountain - view from my room
Raghu in Auroville & his house is absolutely beautiful...had my first full night of sleep in 2 weeks. *sigh* Looking for tix now to head to taiwan now...it's not cheap - lemme tell ya. But I'll get there sooner or later.

What can I say? At this moment, I'm feeling homesick. I miss you all VERY much. Wish I had a few of my friend's arms around, embracing me in that oh so familiar love. But soon enough. Wish you were here to enjoy the awesome peanut butter w/me =)

I love you allllllllllllll!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Rest-a-while parkRest-a-while park
Rest-a-while park

won't you rest-a-while?
Pradakshana pit stopPradakshana pit stop
Pradakshana pit stop

had melon & pomegranate juice...mmmm
Sweaty JenSweaty Jen
Sweaty Jen

Me hiking Aranuchala. Cali represent! =)
jorge on arunachalajorge on arunachala
jorge on arunachala

check the view behind...nice
Boys like to cook for meBoys like to cook for me
Boys like to cook for me

Aaron & Jorge - both are amazing in the kitchen. Aaron's letting me crash @ his place in Thiru.
Self-portrait in front of Aaron's portraitSelf-portrait in front of Aaron's portrait
Self-portrait in front of Aaron's portrait

Sweaty, silly & crazy hair. Behind me is Aaron's work-in-progress. He's got nice Stee-Loooo.


27th June 2008

Hardcore!
Now that you can ride a motorcycle (minus the crashes into houses, of course) I'll totally be your bike bitch. Holla! Happy birthday my love! Every time I see your smiley face on here I am reminded of how lucky I am to know you. I'm so happy you left SF and are exploring the wide world. If and when you come back, we'll go out to all those places we did when I came home and I'll culture shock the shit out of you. ;)

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb