Retreat from the heat


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Ooty
March 10th 2010
Published: March 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After two weeks of laziness in Varkala I was starting to sweat too much and decided to retreat to the mountains. I took a quick side trip to Allepy to experience the backwaters, but unfortunately being away from the coast and not higher in elevation only meant it was hotter and stickier. I did quite enjoy the day long boat ride to get there and the ferry ride I took to leave. It was fun to see the homes along the waterways and the people bustling about doing their daily tasks. Allepy itself didn't charm me too much, but the ferry rides gave a nice overview of the backwaters life style.

Kumily was an excellent escape from the heat. Good food, good people, good relaxing. An early morning walk through Periyar wildlife sanctuary didn't produce much in the way of wildlife, but it was nice and quiet and peaceful. I was staying there with my friend Sigrun and we had a blast just hanging out, eating too much at the home cooked European cafe opened in the living room of the couple next door. Loved to talk your ear off and over feed you, but man was the freshly steamed broccoli good. Yes I am a broccoli fanatic. Can't wait to cook fort myself again! And see if I can manage to make those few Indian dishes I learned in Udaipur!

After 4 wonderful days in Kumily, Sigrun and I decided to bite the bullet and descend to the plains again. So to Madurai we went. After a surprisingly pleasant, but increasingly stifling, bus ride we were in the town with the temple. Meenakshi temple is one of the oldest in India, mentioned by the Greeks in some historical document. Ok I don't really remember, but it was impressive enough to propel me out of the mountains into 40 degree weather. The temple is a surprisingly colorful complex, with elephants who bless you! Yes I gave the elephant 2 rupees to bless me. Madurai also had really good dosas and rooftop beer service. How else to admire a temple but with over priced icy beer in your hand.

After two days sweating Sigrun left and I once more headed for the mountains. And here I still am. I am in Coonoor for the week and I spent a few days in Ooty. My first trek resulted in a sunburn of stupidity which I have since enjoyed recovering from by reading books and sleeping well in the cool evenings.

You wonder why I have taken six months off to be a bum. My answer is it is much more fun to be a bum in exotic locations :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb