Mahabalipuram Beach (Video/pics)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Mahabalipuram
January 9th 2014
Published: January 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Had one of the most amazing days.

I rode in with one of the early shifts to pick up Mike and we went to Mahabilipuram to go pick up $70 USD worth of rocks that I bought. Yes, rocks. And yes they are heavy. And yes, they are coming back with me to the states. Plan one was to arrive at Mahabalipuram and pay for my rocks then head to the Raddison to go out on the Catamarans (as lovely sign posted said). I use the term "Catamarans" loosely here, and you'll see what I mean when you see the boat. Seas have been too choppy to go out the past week or so and as we arrived and inquired about the boat rides, we were told that again, today there would be no boat ride due to safety hazards (blah blah blah...). I at least wanted to stick my toes in the waters of the Bengal Sea so we headed down to the beach and started walking towards the Shore Temple. It was amazing because the entire time we are walking I am finding these beautiful sea shells that are funny shaped on one side. As we get closer to the Shore Temple we realize we are on the OTHER SIDE of the fence that surrounds Shore Temple. The fence keeps people from going to the jagged rocks where the ocean meets land and makes this amazing "crash" sound. So, here we are, Mike and I, climbing around on sharp and very tall rock piles taking photos on the outside of a huge tourist destination. Some people are waving from behind the fence, we wave back. We keep walking the narrow path along the fence line and find a spot that seems like it would be the furthest point on Shore Temples little beach filled with rocks. As we are taking pictures, these military guys start HOPPING OVER THE FENCE in order to take pictures/be where we were/take pictures of us. Super nice, but very funny to watch these guys in uniform hopping over a really tall fence. Farther along the path it breaks way to the other side of Shore Temple where a bunch of locals are playing in the water. There are lots of people, little stands full of snacks and food, people selling things, and a tiny little merry-go-round swing thing (see pictures, I have no idea what that thing was called). There were also horses.

This part was pretty cool, I took the horse across the beach and got to look at the waves crashing and the guy let me take the horse on my own for a bit. [
]

I love to ride, and this was great.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



10th January 2014

hi.
thanks for sharing.. really nice story
11th January 2014

Loved the pictures, what a journey you are on !!!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb