Temple town


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Madurai
February 16th 2006
Published: February 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The hotel owner had been able to change my train ticket so that it started from Chengalpattu (near Madurai) rather than from Chennai, meaning that not only would I have a much shorter journey to get on the train, but it would cost less, plus my overall journey would be shorter.

My neighbour on the train was a chubby individual who insisted on encroaching aggressively, but otherwise the trip to Madurai was dull. I'd managed to book a room by phone this morning, at the Hotel Supreme, and it turned out to be a good deal, with unlimited hot water 5-10AM and 5-10PM. They also have a rooftop restaurant that has good views of the temple complex, though at night the complex is only partially lit so it's difficult to make out much about it. Probably 50% of the restaurant customers were Westerners, and probably 50% of them I'd seen on the train.

Unfortunately the food was awful - don't know if this is a southern thing but they decided to throw a ton of fruit into what should have been a bog-standard aloo mattar, rendering it sweet beyond belief.

After dinner I had a quick wander around the immediate vicinity, and received a warning butt from a bull that I walked a little too close to. Otherwise there doesn't seem much remarkable about the town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb