India + Heat wave = Melting Snow woman Saskia!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
April 18th 2010
Published: March 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I arrived at 12am in Chennai airport, i had lucky managed to get a few hours sleep on the plane as i had a bit of an adventure infront of me... The rules of the Indian visa have change very recently, the 6 month mutipil entry visa has a new rule that if you leave the country you have to be out for at least 2 months before returning, one of my friends who had been unawere of this rule had been refused entry to bord her flight in London an emergency visa was requried and a new flight... Before booking my flight to Thailand i asked around and spoke to a few people who had managed diffrent ways to get back in from Sri Lanka and Nepal, it was mixed reviews but after 2months relationship hell, repair and break down in the Ashram, a Thai holiday is what i needed.So when i arrived at the passport control in Chennai airport, i had a whole story about the civil war in Bangkok and the volcano in Iceland, saying my only opition was India, that i felt safe here, i even managed a few tears, befor ei knew it a form was filled out and my pasport signed back in 😊 1am i took a taxi to a hotel i'd booked on the internet earlyer that day in Bangkok... When the taxi driver finaly knew where i was going and got me to the street it became apparent that my hotel was borded up... closed or non excitant...?I called the number on the sheet a man with little English awncered, ia sked him to come and let me in, he hung up, i lied to the taxi driver that i didnt have change so that he would have to wait until i'd signed in to get paid therefore meaning i didn't have to stand alone in this dark ally... after 20mins with no open door i called the number again "Can you come open the door, are you going to leave a woman standing alone on the street at 2am" This worked the door was opened i signed in a fell into a deep sleep. Chennai really has nothign of interest, it was very busy and bland after a day i sleeper classed it to Calcutta... 16hours, broken fan 45degrees! Calcutta was so much better than i expected, i've learnt the lower your expectations the more surprised you'll be, an ovious observation but its taken me a while to put into action! I treated myself after a desaster of a train ride to an A/C room, i wandered the streets wondering why the city is known as dirty and undersriable.In the morning i went to a local flower market under the main bridge, it was amazing, bags and bags of beautiful flowers... sunflowers, pansies, roses! The stall owners asked me to take a photo of them then after i'd shown them they gave me a flower, i left, sheating like hell but covered in bolssoums 😊 Om Shanti xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb